Skip to content ↓

Architecture awards presented

The Department of Architecture has conferred 2000-01 awards on a number of graduate students, undergraduates and recent alumni.

The Sydney B. Karofsky '37 Prize for outstanding master of architecture student with one further year of study went to Laura Bouwman of Eastpointe, MI, who also received a Renzo Piano Internship. The Francis Ward Chandler Prize for achievement in architectural design was presented to Robert Brown, graduate of Portland, OR. Rolando Mendoza of Miami received the Alpha Rho Chi Medal, which recognizes a graduating student for service, leadership and promise of professional merit.

Andrew Jonic of West Chatham, MA won the Imre Halasz Thesis Prize. The American Institute of Architecture (AIA) Medal for the top-ranking graduating master of architecture student went to Laurie Griffith of Granville, OH. Mr. Jonic received the AIA Certificate of Merit for second-ranked graduating master of architecture student.

The SMArchS Prize for outstanding Master of Science in Architecture Studies theses went to Omar Khan of Fresh Meadows, NY, Marianne de Klerk of Pretoria, South Africa and Asheshh Saheba of Stafford, TX.

Pamela Campbell of Glasgow, Scotland and Amanda Dickson of Chevy Chase, MD won AIA Foundation Scholarships.

Talia Braude of Johannesburg, South Africa and Mark Jewell of Northridge, CA were named Skidmore, Owings and Merrill Travelling Fellowship nominees. Ann Macy Beha Travelling Fellowships were bestowed on Adam Griff of Canton, OH, Rohit Mehndirhatta of New Delhi, India, Ruth Palmon of Yavneh, Israel and Matt Simitis of Auburn, MA. Steven Jackson of Birmingham, AL won a Louis C. Rosenberg Travel Grant. Aga Khan Summer Travel Grants went to Amina Razvi of Chicago, Michele Lamprakos of Edison, NJ, Glaire Anderson of Valdosta, GA and Cagla Hadimioglu of Melborne, Australia. Ms. Anderson and Ms. Razvi were also named Schlossman Fellows.

The Marjorie Pierce/Dean William Emerson Fellowship, awarded to a Level II woman for outstanding academic and design achievement, was given to Pui Wan Pearl Tang of Hong Kong.

Katherine Borum of Knoxville, TN, Erdem Erten of Ankara, Turkey, Janna Israel of New York and Muhammed Muzaffar of Lahore, Pakistan recevied Hyzen Travel Fellowships. The Kress Travel Award and a Graham Award (with Associate Professor Mark Jarzomek) went to Juliana Maxim of Quebec, Canada.

Adnan Morshed of Chittagong, Bangladesh received the Wolfsonian Fellowship and Wyeth Fellowship. The American Institute of Iranian Studies Fellowship went to Talin der Grigorian of La Candada, Canada. Mr. Saheba won the Marvin E. Goody Award. The Robert Bradford Newman Medal for merit in architectural acoustics went to Jorge Carbonell of Guaynabo, PR and Mona Tamari of Tokyo. Emily Gephart of Windsor, VT won the Kristen Ellen Finnegan Memorial Award. The ASHRAE Grant-in-Aid Awards went to John Zhai of Beijing, China and Nobukazu Kobayashi of Tokyo.

The following undergraduates received awards. The William Everett Chamberlain Prize for achievement in design by an undergraduate was given to Octavio Gutierrez, a senior from Baldwin Park, CA. Seniors Chris Berry of Carrolton, TX and Annie Lo of Hong Kong won Faculty Design Awards. Molly Forr, a senior from Altoona, PA, won the Oustanding Undergraduate Prize for academic excellence. Exchange Scholars to the Technical University at Delft are juniors Tina Lin of Irvine, CA and John Rothenberg of Rochester, NY.

Awards were also presented to recent architecture alumni. The Ralph Adams Cram Award went to Garyfallia Katsavounidou (PhD 2000) of Thessaloniki, Greece. The 2001 ASHRAE Homer Addams Award was presented to Jelena Srebric (PhD 2000) of Belgrade, Yugoslavia.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 6, 2001.

Related Topics

More MIT News