Skip to content ↓

Awards and honors

Todd Glickman, senior industrial liaison officer in the Office of Corporate Relations, has received a special award from the American Meteorological Society for leading the effort to publish the second edition of the AMS Glossary of Meteorology. The award is for "marshalling the energies and talents of hundreds of contributors to produce a reference work of immeasurable benefit to the community." Glickman served as managing editor of the editorial board; all members share in the award. Five of 41 board members are members of the MIT community: Professor of Meterology Kerry A. Emanuel (S.B. 1976, Ph.D. 1978), Howard B. Bluestein (S.B. 1971, S.M. 1972, Ph.D. 1976), William Haggard (Ph.D. 1942), Mankin Mak (S.M. 1966, Ph.D. 1968) and Roddy Rogers (S.M. 1957).

Alan Lightman, adjunct professor in the Program in Writing and Humanistic Studies, was one of five authors recognized for "Special Honors in Fiction" at the the inaugural Massachusetts Book Awards. The nomination, selected from approximately 100 submissions, was for his latest novel, "The Diagnosis." The top prize was presented to Jayne Anne Phillips for "Motherkind" at a ceremony held at the Boston Public Library on Nov. 2.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on November 14, 2001.

Related Topics

More MIT News

Wind turbines on the top of a hill

A healthy wind

Health benefits of using wind energy instead of fossil fuels could quadruple if the most polluting power plants are selected for dialing down, new study finds.

Read full story