Skip to content ↓

Six elected to Academy

Six MIT affiliates were elected as fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences on April 26.

The new MIT Fellows are Barbara Imperiali, professor of chemistry; John Benjamin Heywood, the Sun Jae Professor of Mechanical Engineering and director of the Sloan Automotive Laboratory; Douglas A. Lauffenburger, professor of chemical engineering and bioenginering and co-director of the Division of Bioengineering and Environmental Health; Timothy Berners-Lee, principal research scientist at the Laboratory for Computer Science; and Shafira Goldwasser, professor of electrical engineering and computer science.

Alexander d'Arbeloff (SB 1949), chairman of the MIT Corporation, was also elected this year.

The academy, located in Cambridge, was founded in 1780 and has elected more than 4,000 Fellows since then, including Benjamin Franklin, Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill. This year's 211 inductees include former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, composer and lyricist Stephen Sondheim, photographer Richard Avedon and President Vaclav Havel of the Czech Republic.

The Academy's charter is "to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity and happiness of a free, independent and virtuous people." The induction ceremony will be held on October 13.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 9, 2001.

Related Topics

More MIT News