Skip to content ↓

Brain and cognitive sciences department cites students

The Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences bestowed awards on undergraduates and graduate students in the department for 1999-2000.

Three graduate students received the Angus MacDonald Award for Outstanding Teaching Assistance: Rutledge Ellis-Behnke of Canton, MA; and Serkan Oray and Tessa Warren of Cambridge.

Walle Nauta Awards for Outstanding Teaching Assistance went to graduate students Wael Asaad and Albert Lee of Cambridge and Cynthia Kiddoo of Somerville.

Song-Yee Yoon of Kyungi-do, Korea, who is receiving the PhD this week, won an award for Best Student Paper at the Agents 2000 meeting in Barcelona in June. Her paper was titled "Motivation-Driven Learning for Interactive Synthetic Characters."


The Walle J.H. Nauta Award for Excellence in Research in Brain Science was given to Amy K. Ashbacher, a senior from Urbandale, IA. Alison M. Harris of Washington, DC, who received the SB degree in February 2000, received the Hans-Lukas Teuber Award for Excellence in Research in Cognitive Science. The Award for Excellence in Scholarship in Brain Science went to Angela Yu, a senior from Somerville, NJ. Lucila Ramirez, a senior from Mission, TX, received the Award for Excellence in Scholarship in Cognitive Science.

Recognitions for Outstanding Academic Record were given to seniors David A. Berry of Mt. Kisco, NY; Jasper J. Chen of Shoreline, WA; Jaemi R. Keith of Raleigh, NC; and Hannah S. Kwon of Bloomfield Hills, MI.

Recognitions for Outstanding Research Contributions went to seniors Susanna B. Mierau of Wichita, KS; Sharmin Ghaznavi of Ann Arbor, MI; Carolyn M. Dunbar of Norwell, MA; and Genevieve S. Yu of Irvine, CA.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 31, 2000.

Related Topics

More MIT News