Skip to content ↓

Architecture students receive recognition

The Department of Architecture presented a number of awards to seniors and graduate students in the department.


The AIA Medal, given to the top-ranked Master of Architecture (MArch) student, went to Juintow Lin of Paxton, MA. The AIA Certificate of Merit recognizing the second-ranked Master of Architecture student went to Ryan Chinof Riverwoods, IL. Junko Nakagawa of Yokohama, Japan won the Sydney B. Karofsky '37 Prize for the outstanding MArch student with one further year of study. Ann Vollman Bible of Tolland, CT, received the Kristen Ellen Finnegan Memorial Fund Award.

The Master of Science in Architecture Studies Prize for outstanding graduating students in that degree program went toMichelle Hoeffler of Providence, RI; Garyfallia Katsavounidou of Veria, Greece; Axel Kilian of Ulm-Lehr, Germany; and Mimi Levy of K��ln, Germany. The Francis Ward Chandler Prize for the outstanding MArch student for achievement in architectural design went to Jae Kim of West Vancouver, British Columbia.

Aga Khan Program Summer Travel Grants were presented to Panayiota Pyla of Larnaca, Cyprus; Sunitha Raju of Bangalore, India; and Marianne De Klerk of Pretoria, South Africa. Recipients of Ann Macy Beha Travel Awards were Talia Braude of Los Angeles; Henry Chang of San Francisco; Bianca Nardella of Bologna, Italy; and David Sledge of Norlina, NC. Omar Khan of Fresh Meadows, NY and Amina Razvi of Chicago received Louis C. Rosenberg Travel Awards.

Luke Yeung of Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada and Jorge Otero-Pailos of Madrid, Spain received Schlossman Research Fellowships for research on contemporary issues in architecture. Juintow Lin was also a Skidmore Owings and Merrill Foundation Urban Design Traveling Fellowship Nominee, as was Li Lian Tan of Singapore.

Jae Kim also won the Imre Halasz Thesis Award, given for a thesis demonstrating excellence in architecture that best addresses issues of designing communities of buildings for rapidly developing environments.

Marvin E. Goody Awards of $5,000 for promise of excellence in a master's thesis in the building arts were given to graduate students Daniel Arons of Somerville; Laurie Griffith of Granville, OH; and Takwing Louie of Hong Kong.

Michelle Apigian of San Francisco won the Alpha Rho Chi Medal, given by the national professional fraternity of architecture to a graduating student for service, leadership and promise of professional merit.

Ritu Bhatt of New Delhi, India was named a Woodrow Wilson Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow. Alona Nitzan-Shiftan of Haifa, Israel received the Mary Davis Fellowship and also the Arthur Goldreich Trust Research Award. John Coolidge Fellowships went to Adnan Morshed of Chittagong, Bangladesh and Fernando Alvarez of Asturias, Spain. Mr. Alvarez also received an Edilia and Francois-Auguste de Montequin Fellowship. Junko Nakagawa was awarded a Renzo Piano Workshop Internship. Thomas Beischer of Durham, NC received a Fulbright Fellowship.


Kay Paelmo, a senior from Union City, CA, won the Outstanding Undergraduate Award. Seniors Lucy Fang of Albany, GA and Ian Ferguson of Cary, NC won Faculty Design Awards for excellence in architectural design.Minna Ha, a senior from La Ca�ada, CA, won the William Everett Chamberlain Prize, given to an outstanding graduating BSAD (bachelor of science in art and design) student for achievement in design.


The School of Architecture and Planning also announced the winners of the 1999 Lawrence B. Anderson Award:Scott Raphael Schiamberg (MArch 1996, MCP 1996), now a visiting scholar at MIT, for Take Me Out to the Ballpark for a Glimpse of Green in the Last of the Golden Age Ballparks, and Kairos Shen (MArch 1991) for The Wegner Chair.

The award was initiated by two of Professor Anderson's former students, I.M. Pei (BAr 1940) and William E. Hartmann (BAr 1939), as a tribute to their teacher and former dean of the school. The biennial award, established in 1987, supports creative documentation as a valuable form of learning and is open to applicants who have professional-level degrees and have been in full-time residence in the School of Architecture and Planning for two years. Professor Anderson, a world-renowned architect, died in 1994.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 31, 2000.

Related Topics

More MIT News