Skip to content ↓

Awards & Honors

��������� Thirteen students Kasetta Coleman, Rita Gresham, Derik Thomann, Reuben Cummings, Wechung Wang, Hazel Elizondo, Daniel Serna, Vanessa Pena, Jovonne Bickerstaff, Sarah Chan, Eun Lee, Sing Your Li and Seung Shin-- have been selected as Gates Millennium Scholars. The program aims to increase the number of low-income, high-achieving African Americans, Native Americans, Hispanic Americans and Asian Pacific Americans who enroll in and complete undergraduate college programs. The scholarships are funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

��������� On August 9 MIT Tech Talk included an Awards & Honors piece about four people from the Center for Space Research who received NASA Public Service Awards for their work on the Chandra X-ray Observatory. It has since come to our attention that a fifth MIT researcher, Lorraine M. Fesq, a lecturer in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, also received a Public Service Award in June for helping to build the observatory when she worked at TRW, an aerospace company in Redondo Beach, CA.

��������� Professor of Engineering and Applied Psychology Thomas B. Sheridan, of the departments of mechanical engineering and aeronautics and astronautics, recently received the Arnol M. Small President's Distinguished Service Award from the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society. The award was presented at the society's annual meeting earlier this month in San Diego.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on September 20, 2000.

Related Topics

More MIT News