Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors

��������� Three MIT scientists will receive awards during the March 20-24 American Physical Society meeting in Minneapolis: Dean of Science Robert Birgeneau, Institute Professor Mildred Dresselhaus, and Marc Kastner, the Donner Professor of Physics and head of the department.

Dean Birgeneau will receive the Julius Edgar Lilienfield Prize, which recognizes an outstanding contribution to physics, "for using neutron and X-ray scattering to elucidate the structure, phase transitions and excitations of materials that are paradigms of important statistical mechanical models, and for his ability to convey the excitement of physics to a broad range of audiences." Professor Dresselhaus will be awarded the Nicholson Medal, recognizing the humanitarian aspect of physics and physicists, "for being a compassionate mentor and lifelong friend to young scientists; for setting high standards as researchers, teachers and citizens; and for promoting international ties in science." The Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize, which recognizes and encourages outstanding theoretical or experimental contributions to condensed matter physics, will go to Professor Kastner "for pioneering contributions to single electron effects in mesoscopic systems."

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on March 15, 2000.

Related Topics

More MIT News