Skip to content ↓

Nuclear engineering gives awards

The following awards were announced at the Department of Nuclear Engineering/American Nuclear Society's International Dinner on May 6.

The Ruth and Joel Spira Award for Distinguished Teaching to acknowledge "the tradition of high-quality engineering education at MIT" went to Professor Ian H. Hutchinson.

The American Nuclear Society MIT Student Chapter Outstanding Teaching Award went to Dr. John A. Bernard, acting director of the Nuclear Reactor Laboratory.

Manson Benedict Fellowships, awarded to graduate students for excellence in academic performance and professional promise in nuclear engineering, were given to Mark van der Helm of Norman, OK (fall term) and Wei Cai of the People's Republic of China (spring).

Virginia L. Curran of Jupiter, FL and Karen L. Noyes of Dracut, MA received the Roy Axford Award for academic achievement by a senior in nuclear engineering.

Amanda M. Johnsen of Carlisle, PA, and Nina Kutsuzawa of Wyckoff, NJ, each won the Irving Kaplan Award for academic achievement by a junior in nuclear engineering.

The Outstanding Student Service Award, in recognition of exceptional services to the students, the department and the entire MIT community, went to nuclear engineering graduate students Roberto Accorsi of Milan, Italy and Heather J. MacLean of Ann Arbor, MI; and juniors Loreto Ansaldo of Boston, Nina Kutsuzawa and Lingyun Shao of Rockville, MD.

Graduate students Jacopo Buongiorno of Milan, Italy and Khashayer Shadman of Somerville each received the Outstanding TA Award in recognition of exceptional services to education by a teaching assistant.

A version of this article appeared in the June 2, 1999 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 43, Number 32).

Related Topics

More MIT News