Skip to content ↓

MechE honors students, lecturer

The Department of Mechnical Engineering handed out awards and prizes to students and a lecturer at the department's annual awards luncheon on May 13.

The Mechanical Engineering Department Service Award for dedicated service to the department went to Amy B. Smith, a graduate student from Lexington, MA, and Ashish K. Verma, a senior from Aurora, CO.

The Egon Orowan Award for Outstanding Teaching was awarded to Dr. Simona Socrate, a lecturer in the department.

Rebecca Braff, a graduate student from Rochester, NY, and Cynthia R. Lee, a graduate student from Mountain View, CA, were awarded the Meredith Kamm Memorial Prize for outstanding performance in the mechanical engineering graduate program.

The Carl G. Sontheimer Prize for Excellence in Innovation and Creativity in Design was awarded to Stephen J. Ludwick, a graduate student from Corapolis, PA. Sara J. Godding, a senior from Longmeadow, MA, received the Thomas Sheridan Prize for outstanding research related to human factors.

Amoco Foundation Scholarships for outstanding academic performance were awarded to Michael Hill, a sophomore from Schenectady, NY; Roman Luz, a sophomore from San Marcos, CA; Tina Rosado; a sophomore from Carolina, Puerto Rico; and Saujin Yi, a sophomore from Glendale, CA.

The Padmakar P. Lele Student Award for outstanding and dedicated service as an undergraduate teaching assistant or outstanding academic performance by a sophomore was awarded to Kristin A. Jugenheimer, a senior from Simsbury, CT; Rhonda L. Patton, a senior from Amesbury, MA; and Vinod K. Natarajan, a junior from Timonium, MD.

Megan D. Reese, a senior from Franklin, IN, received the Peter Griffith Prize for outstanding experimental project.

Luis De Florez Awards for outstanding ingenuity and creativity were awarded to seniors Matthew S. DuPlessie of Attleboro, MA; Aaron D. Winthers of Willingboro, NJ; and Thomas Q. Gurski of Concord, MA.

Sean J. Montgomery, a sophomore from Greentown, PA, and Rosalind K. Takata, a junior from Arlington, MA, won the Whitelaw Prize for originality in design in 2.007 (Design and Manufacturing I). Juniors Melissa M. Barbagelata of Glen Cove, NY and Rhonda A. Salzman of Livingston, NJ won AMP Inc. Awards for outstanding performance in 2.008 (Design and Manufacturing II).

Six students won Wunsch Foundation Silent Hoist and Crane Awards for outstanding performance in an undergraduate thesis or project relating to materials handling: Scott R. Blackburn, a senior from Scituate, MA; Laurie M. Leong, a junior from San Ramon, CA; and sophomores Jonathan D. Rohrs of S. Deerfield, MA; Lani N. Rapp of White Plains, NY; Natalie Chouinard of Lincoln, ME; and Ahmed E. Elmouelhi of Granger, IN.

A version of this article appeared in the June 2, 1999 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 43, Number 32).

Related Topics

More MIT News