Skip to content ↓

Three from MIT are Fulbright Scholars; 11 others visit Institute in exchange program

Three MIT faculty members have received 1998-99 Fulbright grants. Another 11 from other countries have received Fulbright grants to do work at MIT.

The international exchange program sponsored by the US government awards grants to American students, teachers and scholars to study, teach, lecture and conduct research abroad, and to foreign nationals to engage in similar activities in the United States. Individuals are selected on the basis of academic or professional qualifications and potential, plus the ability and willingness to share ideas and experiences with people of diverse cultures.

Approximately 4,200 new grants are awarded annually, and about 220,000 people (82,000 from the United States and 138,000 from abroad) have participated in the program since its inception in 1946.

Those from MIT who received grants this year, together with the topics of their work abroad, are:

John R. Ehrenfeld, senior research associate and lecturer in the Program on Technology, Business and Environment, visiting the Technical University of Lisbon in Portugal--"Technology and Public Policy" (April to July 1999);

Moshe Gershovich, visiting lecturer in the Department of History, visiting Al Akhawayn University in Ifrane, Morocco--"Serving the Tricolor: Moroccan Soldiers in French Uniforms" (August 1998 to May 1999);

David M. Woodruff, assistant professor in the Department of Political Science, visiting European University in St. Petersburg, Russia--"Comparative Politics and Political Economy" (September 1998 to July 1999).

Fulbright Scholars visiting MIT are:

Shlomi Arnon of Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel, in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics (December 1998-November 1999); Tarcisio P.R. Campos of the Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil, in the Department of Nuclear Engineering's Reactor Research Laboratory (May 1998-May 1999); Tsung-chyan Lai of National Taiwan University, in the Operations Research Center (September 1998-July 1999); Juan Jose Mazo Torres of the University of Zaragoza, Spain, in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (January-December 1998); Young-Soo Myung of Dankook University in Korea, in the Operations Research Center (August 1998-January 1999); Anders C.E. Odblom of Chalmers University of Technology in Sweden, in the Plasma Fusion Center (February 1998-February 1999); Juan Casto Rivadulla Fernandez of the University of La Coruna in Spain, in the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences (July 1998-June 1999); Juan Romero Morales of Ortega y Gasset University Institute in Madrid, in the Department of Linguistics and Philosophy (September 1998-September 1999); Ioseb Salukvadze of Tbilisi State University in Georgia, in the Department of Urban Studies and Planning (August 1998-May 1999); Boris Sirola of the University of Zagreb in Croatia, in the Department of Mathematics (September 1998-June 1999); and Karim Tahboub of the Palestine Polytechnic Institute on the West Bank, in the Department of Mechanical Engineering (September 1998-June 1999).

A version of this article appeared in the March 3, 1999 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 43, Number 21).

Related Topics

More MIT News