Skip to content ↓

Four BCS students honored

On May 3, the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences had its first annual undergraduate awards dinner, presenting awards to three seniors in the department and one from electrical engineering and computer science.

Annette C. Gray of Sarasota, FL received the Walle J.H. Nauta Award (named for the Institute Professor who died in 1994) for Outstanding Research in Brain Science. Marissa M. Long of Lancaster, PA received the Hans Lukas Teuber Award for Outstanding Research in Cognitive Science.

Edward D. Loper, a senior in electrical engineering and computer science from Charlottesville, VA, received the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Cognitive Science, while Jacob N. Marcus of New Rochelle, NY won the department's Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Brain Science.

Professor Mriganka Sur, head of the department, acknowledged the contributions of Professor Alan Hein, retiring academic officer, and announced that Professor Molly Potter will take up that role at the end of June.

A version of this article appeared in the June 2, 1999 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 43, Number 32).

Related Topics

More MIT News