Skip to content ↓

Awards Convocation honors Institute achievements

The 1999 Awards Convocation on May 5 in Huntington Hall recognized achievements over the past year in many areas. The awards and the recipients are as follows.

William L. Stewart Jr. Awards--for contributions by an individual student or student organizations to extracurricular activities and events during the preceding year

Ritu Gupta '99, biology, Merrimack, NH

Aaron D. Winthers '99, mechanical engineering, Willinboro, NJ

Douglas E. Heimburger '00, management, Riverview, FL

Rita H. Lin '00, chemical engineering, Scarsdale, NY

Brian Schneider G, biology, Cambridge, MA

The Nightline group


Priscilla King Gray Award for Public Service--for an undergraduate exceptionally committed to public service at MIT and its surrounding communities

Jennifer A. Kelly '99, brain and cognitive sciences, New Rochelle, NY

James N. Murphy Award--for an employee whose spirit and loyalty exemplify inspired and dedicated service, especially with regard to students

Daniel T. Engelhardt, Office of Academic Services

Carol Phillips, Department of Chemical Engineering

Gordon Y Billard Award--for special service of outstanding merit performed for the Institute

John D. Corley Jr., lecturer in music and theater arts

Stephen C. Graves, Abraham Siegel Professor of Management at the Sloan School and co-director of the Leaders for Manufacturing program

Dawn C. Metcalf, social worker in the Medical Department

Karl Taylor Compton Prizes--for achievements in citizenship and devotion to the welfare of MIT

Van L. Chu '99, literature, New Brunswick, NJ

Maisha K. Gray '99, materials science and engineering, San Francisco

Jeremy D. Sher '99, mathematics, McLean, VA


Irwin Sizer Award for the Most Significant Improvement in MIT Education

Lecturer Peter Dourmashkin of the Experimental Study Group

Frank E. Perkins Award--for an excellent advisor and mentor for graduate students

Professor Markus Zahn of electrical engineering and computer science (EECS)

Professor Stephen Van Evera of political science.

Graduate Student Council Teaching Awards--for excellence in teaching, particularly with respect to the teaching of and interaction with graduate students

Axel Van Der Walle, materials science and engineeering graduate student

Professor Neil A. Gershenfeld of the Program in Media Arts and Sciences

The Goodwin Medal--for a graduate student whose performance of teaching duties is "conspicuously effective over and above ordinary excellence"

Babak Ayazifar, EECS, Cambridge, MA

Marc D. Paradis, brain and cognitive sciences, Waban, MA

The Everett Moore Baker Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Assistant Professor Daniel Frey of aeronautics and astronautics

Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching

Professor Herbert H. Einstein of civil and environmental engineering

Arthur C. Smith Award--for a faculty member for meaningful contributions and devotion to undergraduate student life at MIT

Associate Professor Patricia J. Culligan of civil and environmental engineering

Kristen E. Finnegan Prize--for a graduate student that helps undergraduates improve their writing skills

Saleem H. Ali, a graduate student in urban studies and planning from New Bedford, MA

Women and minorities

Albert G. Hill Prize--for a minority junior or senior who has maintained high academic standards and made continued contributions to the improvement of the quality of life for minorities at MIT

Dolores Cruz '00, chemical engineering, Amherst, MA

Jason R. Dailey '99, management, Houston, TX

Laya W. Wiesner Award--for the undergraduate woman student who has most enhanced MIT community life

May K. Tse '99, EECS, La Puente, CA, a senior in EECS

Association of MIT Alumnae (AMITA) Senior Academic Award--for a woman who has demonstrated the highest level of academic excellence through coursework and related professional activities at MIT

Lisa R. Kinder '99, materials science and engineering, Charleston, WV


James R. Killian Jr. Community Service Award--for the fraternity with the most outstanding community service program

Phi Delta Theta

Order of Omega New Member Education Award--for the Interfraternity Council member organization that has implemented the most outstanding pledge/new member education program

Theta Chi

Reid Weedon '41 Alumni Relations Award--for the independent living group that has promoted the greatest interactions between its members and alumni/ae

Delta Upsilon

Frederick Gardiner Fassett Jr. Awards--for the male and female members of the Interfraternity Council who have unselfishly demonstrated the qualities of spirit, dedication and service in furthering the ideals of MIT fraternity brotherhood and sisterhood

Katherine E. Hardacre '99, Delta Psi, San Diego, CA

Duane Dreger '99, Sigma Nu, North Ridgeville, OH

A version of this article appeared in the June 2, 1999 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 43, Number 32).

Related Topics

More MIT News