Skip to content ↓

Mir������ opens string series

The Mir������ String Quartet opens MIT's string quartet series on Friday, Oct. 22 with a program of Schubert, Shostakovich and Mendelssohn.

Since its formation in fall 1995 at the Oberlin Conservatory, the Mir������ has established itself as one of the most sought-after young American ensembles. In April 1996, the quartet won the First Prize in the 50th annual Coleman Chamber Music competition and within the month, captured both the First and Grand Prizes at the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition. Mir������ was again honored in August 1998, winning First Prize at the Banff International String Quartet Competition as well as the Murphy Award for their outstanding interpretation of a new work by Canadian composer Chan Kan Nin.

The free concert is at 8pm in Kresge Auditorium.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on October 20, 1999.

Related Topics

More MIT News