Skip to content ↓

Architecture bestows student awards

The Department of Architecture presented the following awards for 1998-99.

Seniors Meredith Maddox of Houston and Gene Pyo of McLean, VA received the Faculty Design Award for excellence in architectural design. Meredith Maddox and Nicole Michel of Buenos Aires, Argentina each won an Outstanding Undergraduate Prize in recognition of academic excellence and dedication to learning. Nicole Michele also won the William Everett Chamberlain Prize, given to the outstanding graduating BSAD student for achievement in design.

The AIA Medal and the AIA Certificate of Merit for the first- and second-ranked master of architecture students went to Sheila Col������n of Carolina, Puerto Rico and Eric Walter of Poulsbo, WA, respectively. Benjamin Kou, a graduate student from Cambridge, won the Francis Ward Chandler Prize, awarded to the outstanding Master of Architecture student for achievement in architectural design.

Graduate students Raymond Pan of Cerritos, CA and Sheila Col������n won Imre Halasz Thesis Awards for theses demonstrating excellence in architecture that best addresses issues of designing communities of buildings for rapidly developing environments.

Six graduate students won Marvin E. Goody Awards for promise of excellence in a master's thesis in the building arts: Karl Daubman of Exeter, RI; Nico Kienzl of Munich, Germany and Kevin Settlemyre of Flint, MI (joint award); Nilay Oza of Noida, India; and Juintow Lin of Riverwoods, IL and Ryan Chin (joint award).

Graduate student Rebecca Berry of Arlington, VA received the Alpha Rho Chi Medal, given by the national professional fraternity of architecture to a graduating student for service, leadership and promise of professional merit. Dale Clifford of Eugene, OR won the Tucker Voss Award, given to an honors student who shows particular promise in the field of building construction. Graduate student Robert Cowherd of Cambridge received a Fulbright Fellowship.

Graduate student Andrew Jonic of Ridgefield, CT was awarded the Sydney B. Karofsky '37 Prize, given to the outstanding master of architecture student with one further year of study. Graduate student Michael Monks of Concord, MA received the Robert Bradford Newman Medal for Merit in Architectural Acoustics. Benjamin Kou and Sheila Col������n were Skidmore Owings and Merrill Foundation Urban Design Traveling Fellowship Nominees.


A number of graduate students won travel grants and research fellowships. Byong Mok of Makati, Philippines and Juliana Maxim of Quebec won Schlossman Research Fellowships for research on contemporary issues in architecture. Lara Tohme of Beirut, Lebanon won a Samuel H. Kress Foundation Research Fellowship, and Ritu Bhatt of New Delhi, India received a Charlotte W. Newcombe Doctoral Dissertation Award from the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation.

Shirine Hamadeh of Beirut, Lebanon won a Dumbarton Oaks Fellowship. Annie Pedret of Toronto won a CASVA/Chester Dale Fellowship, and Paniyiota Pyla of Larnaca, Cyprus won a CASVA/Kress Grant. Juliet Koss of Los Angeles received a GettyGrant. Mah Yahya of Berchem, Belgium won a Rockefeller Humanities Postdoctoral Fellowship, and Carla Keyvanian of Selvazzano Dentro, Italy received a Paul Mellon Fellowship.

Four graduate students received Aga Khan Program Summer Travel Grants: Aslihan Demirtas of Ankara, Turkey; NandiniBagchee of Linden, NJ; Talin Der Grigorian of La Ca�ada, CA; and Lara Tohme of Beirut, Lebanon. Ryan Chin of Paxton, MA and Cater Johnson of New York, NY received Ann Macy Beha Travel Awards. Louis C. Rosenberg Travel Awards went to Alison Alessi of Millis, MA, and Rolando Mendoza of Miami.

Five graduate students received Hyzen Pre-ABD Travel Fellowships: Fernando Alvarez of Asturias, Spain; Ann Vollman Bible of Tolland, CT; Janna Israel of New York, NY; Juliana Maxim and Talin Der Gregorian.

A version of this article appeared in the June 2, 1999 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 43, Number 32).

Related Topics

More MIT News