Skip to content ↓

HST calls for proposals

The Taplin Awards Committee invites MIT faculty to submit a one-page proposal outlining their ideas to build HST educational and research programs in 1998-99. The deadline for proposals for the $50,000 awards is May 15.

The purpose of the John F. and Virginia Taplin Awards Program, established last year, is to build the infrastructure of HST and thereby recognize and support the work of faculty and students at HST in the fields of biomedical engineering, physics and chemistry. These efforts will help HST to contribute to an understanding of the causes of disease and their prevention, treatment and cure.

Examples of desirable activities include (but are not limited to) projects for curriculum development, building major collaborative research programs based in HST, student and faculty mentoring and career development. These awards are not intended to support the research of individual investigators.

Four faculty members selected by the Taplin Awards Committee will receive $50,000 in discretionary funds. The awardees will be known as the John F. and Virginia B. Taplin Faculty Fellows in Health Sciences and Technology. Proposals may be submitted to Professor Martha L. Gray, HST co-director, Rm E25-519.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on April 29, 1998.

Related Topics

More MIT News