Skip to content ↓

Sloan Merit Scholars are named

The Sloan School of Management recently presented merit scholarship awards to recognize graduating MBA students for outstanding leadership, professional promise and contribution as well as academic achievement while at Sloan. Six faculty members also won awards.

Seley Scholars are Jennifer McPhee of Belmont, MA, and Mary Quillian of Washington, DC. Stacy Karp of Berkeley Heights, NJ, won a Henry B. DuPont III Scholarship. Edie Cheng of Palo Alto, CA, received a Henry Ford II Scholarship, and a Miriam Sherburne Scholarship went to Meredith C. Shachoy of Rye, NY.

Martin Trust Community Fellowships were awarded to Matthew Russell of Rutland, VT; Steve Rosenblatt of New York, NY; Paul Cheng of Portland, OR; Treavor Thomas of Houston, TX; and Sally Shepard of Portland, OR.

The Peterson Award went to Clive Vacher of Oxford, England; Dan Olexio of Dayton, OH; Jennifer Joyce of Salem, OR; and Susan Sullivan of East Bridgewater, MA.

On May 13, Sloan held its 10th annual Faculty Appreciation ceremony. A highlight of that event was the announcement of the winner of the annual Alumni/ae Award for Excellence in Management Education. A record 37 Sloan faculty members were nominated.

This year's winner was J.C. Penney Professor of Management Jeremy C. Stein, who was lauded for his outstanding work in corporate finance.

Also cited for excellence in teaching were Professor Arnold Barnett, Associate Professors Rebecca Henderson and Simon Johnson, Visiting Associate Professor Kevin Rock and Dai-Ichi Kangyo Bank Professor of Management David Scharfstein.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 3, 1998.

Related Topics

More MIT News