Skip to content ↓

49 seniors elected to Phi Beta Kappa

Forty-nine graduating seniors have been elected to MIT's chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. A lecture and initiation ceremony will be held Thursday, June 4 and is open to all Phi Beta Kappa members at MIT, wherever initiated.

This year's lecture, entitled "Designing the Cities of the 21st Century," will be given by Professor William J. Mitchell, dean of the School of Architecture and Planning. It will take place at 2:30pm in Bartos Theatre and will be followed by the initiation ceremony. A reception will be held from 3:15-4pm in the Bartos Atrium.

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa honors those undergraduates who have performed most outstandingly in their course of studies in the liberal arts and sciences.

The new electees, grouped by major, are:

Aeronautics and astronautics -- Takayuki Kohata of Yokohama, Japan.

Architecture -- Laura M. Bouwman of Eastpointe, MI, and Lin-Ann Ching of Rancho Palos Verdes, CA.

Biology -- Corinna Cosmas of Livingston, NJ; Adam G. Eldridge of Murrysville, PA; Eric K. Fynn-Thompson of Accra, North Ghana; Joel P. Johnson of Huntington Beach, CA; Andrew Y. Tan of Singapore; Lucy Y. Wang of Santa Rosa, CA; Deborah M. Weinstein of Columbia, MO; and Charles C. Wykoff of Clements, CA.

Chemical engineering -- Weiyang Cheong of Singapore; Tiffany P. Cunningham of Bloomfield Hills, MI; Nikolay A. Fidelman of Jackson Heights, NY; Celeste M. Nelson of Denver, CO; and Tseh-Hwan Yong of Singapore.

Chemistry -- Janelle V. Brown of Warren, NJ; Steven R. Klei of Massapequa Park, NY; Raquel L. Lieberman of Forest Hills, NY; Michelle R. Machacek of Acton, MA; and Laura I. Turculet of Enfield, CT.

Civil and Environmental Engineering -- James P. Habyarimana of Entebbe, Uganda, and Heileen Hsu of Cecil, PA.

Economics -- Marcos d. Chamon of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; Robin S. Chhabra of Houston, TX; Winnie W. Choi of London, England; Peter I. Chu of Honolulu, HI; Robin M. Greenwood of Tokyo, Japan; Rujikorn Pavasuthipaisit of Washington, DC; and Syed Farhan H. Zaidi of Manila, Philippines.

Electrical engineering and computer science -- Shelley M. Cazares of Tehachapi, CA; Hur Koser of Istanbul, Turkey; Lisa A. Poyneer of Renton, WA; and Max Rozenoer of Worcester, MA.

Management -- Jamie A. Buller of Austin, TX.

Materials science and engineering -- Wendy L. Mao of Fairfax, VA, and Patrick E. Trapa of Puyallup, WA.

Mathematics -- Sara B. Garon of Crystal, MN; David Y. Jao of San Rafael, CA; Aneel N. Nazareth of Stamford, CT; and Noah J. Richmond of Highland Park, IL.

Mechanical engineering -- Wendy H.W. Cheng of Plymouth, MN, and Thao D.P. Nguyen of Van Nuys, CA.

Physics -- Jeffrey C. Gore of Corvallis, OR; Sergei Krupenin of Cambridge, MA; Arun M. Ram-Mohan of Northborough, MA; Maya R. Said of Damascus, Syria; Kyle M. Shen of Vancouver, Canada; and Aaron W. Tustin of Salisbury, MD.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 3, 1998.

Related Topics

More MIT News