Skip to content ↓

Convocation honors accomplishments of many

The 1998 Awards Convocation recognized achievements over the past year in many areas and also saw the inaugural presentation of the Priscilla King Gray Award for Public Service, honoring the inspiration provided by MIT's former first lady. The awards and the recipients are as follows (sports, writing and arts awards appear elsewhere in this issue of Tech Talk):

William L. Stewart Jr. Awards--presented to students who have made outstanding contributions to extracurricular activities and events during the preceding year

Duane Dreger '99, North Ridgeville, OH, mathematics

Adriana T. Guzman G, San Jose, Costa Rica, civil and environmental engineering

Anita N. Krishnan '98, Potomac, MD, chemical engineering

Pooja Shukla '99, North Attleboro, MA, biology

Sven Heemeyer G, Cambridge, physics

Andrew Rhomberg G, Cambridge, chemistry

the late Michele Micheletti '00

Luis A. Ortiz G, Pensacola, FL, materials science and engineering

William W. Shen '98, Brecksville, OH, economics

Class of 2001

James R. Killian Jr. Community Service Award--presented to the fraternity with the most outstanding community service program

Phi Delta Theta

Order of Omega New Member Education Award--recognizing the Interfraternity Council member organization that has implemented the most outstanding pledge/new member education program

Phi Delta Theta

Reid Weedon '41 Alumni Relations Award--presented to the independent living group that has promoted the greatest interactions between its members and alumni/ae

Delta Upsilon

Frederick Gardiner Fassett, Jr. Award--presented to the male and female members of the Interfraternity Council who have unselfishly demonstrated the qualities of spirit, dedication, and service in furthering the ideals of MIT fraternity brotherhood and sisterhood

Jamie Buller '98, Austin, TX, management, Alpha Phi

Norris Vivatrat '98, Kingwood, TX, brain and cognitive sciences, Phi Delta Theta

Irwin Sizer Award for the Most Significant Improvement in MIT Education--presented to any member or group in the Institute community to honor significant innovations and improvements in MIT education

The Beijing Urban Design Studio

Professors Dennis Frenchman and Jan Wampler of the Department of Architecture.

Frank E. Perkins Award--given to a professor who has served as an excellent advisor and mentor for graduate students

Professor Frank Solomon, biology

E. Eric Adams, civil engineering

Graduate Student Council Teaching Awards--given each year to one professor from each school for excellence in teaching, particularly with respect to the teaching of and interaction with graduate students

Professor Robert S. Gibbons, Sloan School of Management

Professor Kenneth A. Oye and teaching assistant Suhas Tripathi, G, political science

Professor Gregory W. Wornell and teaching assistant Freddi-Jo Eisenberg, G, civil and environmental engineering

Meenu Tewari, lecturer, School of Architecture and Planning

Assistant Professor of Chemistry Scott Virgil, School of Science

Goodwin Medal--presented to a graduate student in recognition of conspicuously effective teaching

Kevin M. Shea G, Vernon, CT, chemistry

Everett Moore Baker Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching--given to faculty members in recognition of exceptional interest and ability in the instruction of undergraduates

Assistant Professor Stephen P. Bell of biology.

Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching--recognizing outstanding contributions to undergraduate education by members of the School of Engineering faculty

Professor John R. Hansman Jr. of aeronautics and astronautics.

Arthur C. Smith Award--presented to a member of the faculty for meaningful contributions and devotion to undergraduate student life at MIT

Professor and housemaster John M. Essigmann of toxicology and chemistry.

Kristen E. Finnegan Prize--recognizing the contribution of a graduate student to the Institute's effort in helping undergraduates to improve their writing skills

Cherie M. Abbanat, lecturer in the Program in Writing and Humanistic Studies

Rebecca M. Herzig, a graduate student in the Program for Science, Technology, and Society.

Albert G. Hill Prize--awarded to minority juniors or seniors who have maintained high academic standards and have made continued contributions to improvement of the quality of life for minorities at MIT

Fabio Brunet, '98, St. Ann, MO, mechanical engineering

Maisha K. Gray, '99, San Francisco, materials science and engineering

Laya W. Wiesner Award--given to the undergraduate woman who has most enhanced MIT community life

Michelle L. Evans '99, Worthington, OH, chemical engineering

Association of MIT Alumnae Award--presented to an outstanding woman who has demonstrated the highest level of academic excellence through her course work and related professional activities at MIT

Lisa A. Poyneer '98, Renton, WA, electrical engineering and computer science

Tiffany P. Cunningham '98, Bloomfield Hills, MI, chemical engineering)

The Priscilla King Gray Award for Public Service--established by the Undergraduate Association in cooperation with the Public Service Center, recognizes an undergraduate exceptionally committed to public service at MIT and its surrounding communities. The recipient clearly demonstrates a personal dedication to social change, prolonged and in-depth involvement, and initiative in a leadership capacity

Michael M. Bryzek, '99, Fremont, CA, EECS

Gordon Y Billard Award--given to a member of the faculty, non-faculty employee, or one not necessarily affiliated with the Institute, for special service of outstanding merit performed for the Institute

Sgt. Cheryl N. deJong-Vossmer, MIT Campus Police

Ronald Parker, senior database analyst in Information Systems.

James N. Murphy Award--presented to any employee of the Institute whose spirited contributions to the Institute family have won a place in the hearts of students

Cathryn J. Baty, coordinator of the International Students Office

Jacinto Figueiredo, ormitory maintenance mechanic with the Housing Office.

Karl Taylor Compton Prizes--presented to students in recognition of outstanding contributions in promoting high standards of achievement and good citizenship within the MIT community

Geoffrey J. Coram G, Reston, VA, EECS

Jacob J. Seid G, Mission Viejo, CA, EECS

Iddo Gilon '98, Newton, MA, EECS

Jorge F. Rodriguez '98, Rio Piedras, Puerto Rico, mathematics

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 3, 1998.

Related Topics

More MIT News