Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors

The work of Felice Frankel, artist-in-residence and research scientist at the Edgerton Center, will be on display at the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in Washington, DC through the end of May. Ms. Frankel uses microscopic photography and digital imaging to illustrate scientific research in biology, chemistry, and physics. An opening reception cosponsored by MIT, the NSF and AAAS, was held on March 19 for the exhibit. Introducing Ms. Frankel at the reception, President Charles M. Vest said, "In pursuing a vision that not only illustrates but illuminates the visual aspect of scientific reality, Felice Frankel has performed an extraordinary service." Her work is described by the AAAS as taking science "from complex equations to bold and beautiful visuals in a new collaboration designed to spark public appreciation for science."

Tobin Smith, assistant director of the MIT Washington Office, was named winner of a Daily Points of Light Award for March 19 by the Points of Light Foundation. Founded in 1990, the foundation is a nonpartisan nonprofit organization devoted to promoting volunteer service to help solve serious social problems.

Mr. Smith was cited for his contributions to the Virginia Cooperative Extension (of which 4-H is a part) in Arlington, VA. He organized a club for immigrant children, served as chairman for the Arlington 4-H Council, developed Arlington's 4-H Fishing Club and raised scholarship funds for 4-H camps. "He continues to be a mentor to the children that participate throughout their childhood and high school years, helping them and guiding them in any way needed," the foundation noted.

MIT's team took fourth place in the William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition held on December 6, and several MIT students won individual prizes. A total of 2,510 students from 419 US and Canadian colleges and universities participated. Winners of $250 included Federico Ardila, David Y. Jao and Eric H. Kuo (all seniors in mathematics) and Edward D. Lee, a junior in mathematics. Honorable-mention winners from MIT were Miroslav Jurisic and Amit Khetan (both juniors in electrical engineering and computer science), and senior Brian J. Tivol and sophomore Ben D. Wieland (both mathematics majors).

James Bruce, professor of electrical engineering and vice president for information systems, has been named to the nine-member Network Planning and Policy Advisory Council. The panel is one of three advisory committees created by the University Corporation for Advanced Internet Development to guide higher education's advanced networking efforts, including the Internet2 project. Professor Bruce's group will provide input on planning, developing and managing advanced networks for research and education.

Four faculty and students will share in a $15,000 GenCorp Foundation research grant: Associate Professor Mary Boyce of mechanical engineering; Michael Rubner, the TDK Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, director of the Program in Polymer Science and Technology; graduate student Sarah Clark of chemical engineering and graduate student Yot Boontongkong of materials science and engineering. GenCorp's Signature Program provides technology partnership grants and student achievement awards to universities "renowned for their exceptional polymer science and engineering programs."

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on April 1, 1998.

Related Topics

More MIT News