Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors

The Electronic Frontier Foundation has bestowed one of two 1998 Pioneer Awards on Richard Stallman, a research affiliate in the Artificial Intelligence Laboratory. Mr. Stallman founded the GNU Project in 1984 and is the principal author of GNU Emacs, the GNU C Compiler, the GNU Debugger GDB, and parts of other software packages. He is president and founder of the Free Software Foundation, a not-for-profit organization that works for freedom to copy, modify and redistribute computer programs. In 1990, Mr. Stallman was awarded a "genius grant" by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.

The Pioneer Awards recognize "individuals who have made significant and influential contributions to the development of computer-based communications or to the empowerment of individuals in using computers." One of the 1996 recipients was Ethernet creator and 3Com founder Robert Metcalfe (SB '68), the 1997-98 president of the MIT Association of Alumni and Alumnae.
Three members of the biology department have been honored by the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Associate Professor Tyler Jacks, an HHMI Assistant Investigator, has received the ASMB-Amgen Award ($5,000 plus a $20,000 unrestricted research grant). Associate Professor Tania Baker, also an HHMI Assistant Investigator, is this year's recipient of the $5,000 Schering-Plough Scientific Achievement Award. Alexander Rich, the William Thompson Sedgwick Professor of Biophysics, is the 1998 recipient of the $5,000 ASBMB-Merck Award. The three professors will lecture and receive their awards at the organization's annual meeting in Washington, DC, in May.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on February 25, 1998.

Related Topics

More MIT News