Skip to content ↓

United Way winners drawn

Thirty-nine members of the MIT community who made donations to the annual United Way campaign were winners in a prize drawing held February 14 at a thank-you party for chief solicitors. Everyone who contributed was automatically entered in the raffle. Sixteen door prizes were also handed out.

The Institute has raised $292,856 for the United Way of Massachusetts Bay, or 98 percent of its $300,000 goal. The Office of Special Community Services has recorded 1,165 donors, including 66 Leadership Givers who contributed at least $1,000 apiece. The campaign began on October 23, 1996 and officially ended on December 31, though late contributions are still being accepted through Friday.

Raffle winners and prizes follow:

Rolanda L. Dudley-Cowans, Division of Toxicology, and Richard A. Finn, Physical Plant--Each won an overnight stay for two at the Cambridge Center Marriott Hotel.

Professor Thomas Kochan, Sloan School, and Institute Professor David Baltimore--Each won an overnight stay for two at the Inn at Harvard.

Eileen Ng, mechanical engineering--Two tickets to the Regattabar at the Charles Hotel.

Judith Leonard, Medical Department--Brunch for two at the Sheraton Commander Hotel.

Maureen Ahern, Purchasing Office, and Professor John Negele, physics--two Premium Club tickets apiece to the Boston Celtics game on April 20.

Dr. Eric Chivian, Medical Department--Two tickets to a performance of Shear Madness at the Charles Playhouse.

Jenifer Evans, Lincoln Laboratory--Two tickets to a performance of Carmen at the Boston Ballet.

Patricia Marcus, earth, atmospheric and planetary sciences (EAPS); Douglas Reynolds, Lincoln Laboratory, and Ramachandra Rao Dasari, Spectroscopy Laboratory--Two tickets apiece to a performance of the Boston Classical Orchestra on April 25.

Sandra Knight, Technology Review--two tickets to the Boston Classical Orchestra on April 27.

Professor Ellen T. Harris, music and theater arts--Two tickets to the Handel and Haydn Society on March 23 (Easter Oratorios).

Professor Paul Schimmel, biology--Two tickets to a performance of the Handel & Haydn Society on May 4 (Schubert/Brahms anniversary).

Professor Emeritus Robert Alberty, chemistry--Two 10-day passes to the 1997 Topsfield Fair.

Hillary DeBaun, Student Services reengineering; Professor Gordon Kaufman, Sloan School; Lee Ann Latham Day, School of Architecture and Planning; Harry Finkle, Lincoln Laboratory; Sharon Flanagan, Physical Plant; Mark Schattenburg, Center for Space Research, and Julie Norris, Office of Sponsored Programs--four New England Aquarium passes apiece.

Rachel Kimboko, urban studies and planning--four Plimoth Plantation passes.

Susan Guralnik, electrical engineering and computer science--four Water Country passes.

Professor Bernard Frieden, School of Architecture and Planning; Professor Deborah Fitzgerald, Program in Science, Technology, and Society, and Guillermo Alvarez, Laboratory for Nuclear Science--two round-trip tickets on the M/V Island Queen to Martha's Vineyard during the 1997 season.

Brian Corey, Haystack Observatory--two tickets to Stephen Sondheim's Company at the Huntington Theatre.

Julie Knight, Physical Plant--two Museum of Science exhibit hall passes.

Suzanne Adams, Safety Office, and Professor Ole S. Madsen, civil and environmental engineering--two passes apiece to the Mark Twain House in Hartford.

Marilyn Finlay, Alumni/ae Association--One South Entertainment Book.

Senior Vice President William Dickson and Deirdre Dow-Chase, Center for Advanced Educational Services--One Ski Card International discount book apiece.

Professor Lee Grodzins, physics--Dinner for two at the Bisuteki Steak House at the Howard Johnson Hotel in Cambridge.

Maureen Rezendes, Medical Department, and Elizabeth A. Thomson, News Office--One $100 American Express gift cheque apiece.

Door prize winners were:

Sonya Foster, Planning Office--autographed picture of Boston Celtic Greg Minor.

Kelly Smith, Alumni/ae Association--autographed picture of Boston Celtic Todd Day.

Bea Frain, Planning Office--Boston Garden "Last Hurrah" hockey puck autographed by Bruins defenseman Troy Mallette.

Mary Mullowney, Ocean Engineering--Hyatt Regency plush bathrobe.

Deborah Bell, Sloan School--three New England Aquarium passes.

Heidi Demers, Laboratory for Nuclear Science; Thomas Cosgrove, Lincoln Fiscal Office; Judith Stein, STS; Deborah Sylvia, Credit Union; Susan Grieve, EAPS; Mary Westlund, Center for Advanced Educational Services; Mary Amato, Purchasing Office; Bruce Brown, Division of Comparative Medicine; Beverly Walker, mechanical engineering; Aileen Greene, HST, and Drew Sexton, Plasma Fusion Center--two New England Aquarium passes each.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on March 5, 1997.

Related Topics

More MIT News