Skip to content ↓

Three in EECS named to chairs

Press Inquiries

Press Contact:

News Office
Phone: 617-253-2700

Three faculty members in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science -- Associate Professor Duane S. Boning and Assistant Professors Dennis M. Freeman and Seth Teller -- have been named to career development chairs.

Professor Boning has been named to the ITT Professorship, succeeding Professor Gregory Wornell of EECS. His research area is semiconductor manufacturing, including process control, process synthesis, tools and frameworks for semiconductor process and device design, and the computer-integrated manufacturing of integrated circuits.

He holds four degrees from MIT: SB degrees (1984) in electrical engineering and in computer science, and the SM (1986) and PhD (1991) in EECS. He was appointed an assistant professor at the Institute in 1992 and was promoted to associate professor last spring.

Professor Freeman is the newest holder of the W.M. Keck Foundation Career Development Professorship, established to support young faculty in biomedical engineering. He is the first recipient from EECS; the last holder of the chair was Professor Jacquelyn Yanch of nuclear engineering.

Professor Freeman has developed a video system to visualize and measure motions of microscopic structures, both biological and man-made. The system was developed to study the mechanics of sensory cells of the inner ear and is also being applied to silicon microma-chines that are fabricated much like microelectronic chips. He holds the BS (1973) from Pennsylvania State University, and the SM and EE (1976) and the PhD (1986) from MIT. He is a member of the Research Laboratory of Electronics and a research associate at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary.

Professor Teller has been appointed to the X-Consortium Professorship, which promotes academic interest in human-computer interfaces. It was established by the X Consortium, which was centered in MIT's Laboratory for Computer Science and coordinated the development of the X Windows system. The only previous holder of the chair is Professor Michael Hawley of the Program in Media Arts and Sciences.

Professor Teller joined the EECS faculty in 1994. His research interests include computer graphics, computational geometry, machine vision, illumination engineering and other aspects of computing. He holds the BA in physics (1985) from Wesleyan University and the MS (1990) and PhD (1992) in computer science from the University of California at Berkeley. He held postdoctoral research positions at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and Princeton University before coming to MIT.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on September 10, 1997.

Related Topics

More MIT News