Skip to content ↓

Awards & honors

Professor Thomas B. Sheridan has received the 1997 National Engineering Award from the American Association of Engineering Societies. The award is presented "to recognize an engineer whose career and accomplishments have particularly benefited humanity." Dr. Sheridan is professor of engineering and applied psychology in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, and he is also a professor in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics. He researches human-machine systems and human factors in transportation and other areas.

Four MIT sophomores--Todd Bailey of chemical engineering and Anjali Dhond, Praveen Ghanta and Valentin Spitkovsky of electrical engineering and computer science--are among 24 recipients of scholarships funded by Advanced Micro Devices and administered by The Community Foundation of Santa Clara (CA). The scholarships were awarded on a competitive basis to students studying electrical engineering, computer engineering, microelectronics, solid state physics or chemical engineering. In addition to the monetary award, the winners will be summer interns at AMD in Sunnyvale, CA or Austin, TX.

Dr. Arnold Demain, professor of industrial microbiology and director of the Department of Biology's Fermentation Microbiology Laboratory, was recently inducted as a corresponding member of the Mexican Academy of Sciences. The Academy is a keystone of scientific development in Mexico and has exchange agreements with many other international scientific organizations. In that country, Professor Demain has presented seminars at universities, taught short courses and lectured at national meetings.

Professor Thomas W. Eagar, head of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and POSCO Professor of Materials Engineering, was recently honored as a co-recipient of the Warren F. Savage Memorial Award from the American Welding Society. It was endowed by former associates of Professor Savage to honor his dedication and accomplishments in the field of welding metallurgy.

The award recognizes the paper published in the Welding Journal during the previous calendar year that best represents innovative research resulting in a better understanding of the metallurgical principles related to welding. Dr. Eagar and his colleagues-Drs. M. Umemoto, professor at Toyohashi University of Technology, I. Okane, professor emeritus at Toyohashi University, and T. Itsukaichi of Shiojiri Works-were selected for their publication entitled "Plasma Spray Joining of Al-Matrix Particulate Reinforced Composites," which appeared in the September 1996 issue (Dr. Itsukaichi was first author).

Freshman Sharmin Ghaznavi is one of 32 university students from the United States and Canada selected to participate in the American Psychological Association's second Summer Science Institute in Washington, DC. She was selected from more than 450 students on the basis of academic record, faculty recommendations and a personal essay. The week-long Institute will include interactive sessions on various branches of psychology, led by faculty from universities including Yale, Columbia and Arizona State University.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on April 30, 1997.

Related Topics

More MIT News