Skip to content ↓

Awards & Honors

Professor Sigurdur Helgason of mathematics has been awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Uppsala in Sweden. He is a leading researchers in the fields of noncommutative harmonic analysis and differential equations on Lie groups. His three books on these subjects were awarded the prestigious Steele Prize by the American Mathematical Society.

Professor of Management and Engineering James M. Utterback of the Sloan School of Management is receiving the degree of Honorary Doctor of Science (Engineering) from the Chalmers University of Technology in Goteborg, Sweden. Professor Utterback was a visiting professor at Chalmers from 1980-82. From 1983-88, he was also director of industrial liaison at MIT.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 14, 1997.

Related Topics

More MIT News