Skip to content ↓

Fraternity system cites 3 houses, 2 students

Accomplishments by fraternities, sororities and individual members were recognized in four award categories conferred by the Interfraternity Council.

The James R. Killian Jr., Community Service Award was presented to Phi Delta Theta, which was lauded for its efforts on behalf of causes including the Make-a-Wish Foundation, the Children's Hospital of Boston and the alumni telethon (which it won in the fraternity category).

The Order of Omega New Member Education Award was given to Chi Phi in recognition of assistance to new members with study skills, resumes, UROPs, and "emphasizing event planning and participation in an innovative way," said presenter Malinda Lutz, president of the Order of Omega.

The Reed Weedon '41 Alumni Relations Award, for an independent living group that promotes the greatest interaction between members and alumni, was given to Kappa Alpha Theta, which "exemplifies the Greek ideal of sisterhood for life," said presenter and IFC vice president Jorge Rodriguez, a sophomore in mathematics. "This chapter has tried to develop a stronger rapport, cooperation and understanding with this invaluable resource."

The Frederick Gardiner Fassett, Jr. Awards are presented each year to the male and female IFC members who have "unselfishly demonstrated the qualities of spirit, dedication and service in furthering the ideals of MIT fraternity brotherhood and sisterhood." Brian Dye, a senior in chemical engineering from Virginia Beach, VA, "has brought profound changes to the IFC," while Malinda K. Lutz, a senior in aeronautics and astronautics from La Palma, CA, "has been an exemplary person when it comes to dedication and service," Mr. Rodriguez said.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 5, 1996.

Related Topics

More MIT News