Skip to content ↓

Biology salutes seven

Six seniors and a sophomore were recipients of honors at the Department
of Biology's Senior Dinner held May 10.

Arash Komeili, a senior from Raleigh, NC, was one of two recipients
of the John L. Asinari Award. Kenneth S. Song, a senior February
graduate from Rochester Hills, MI, was the other recipient. The award
was established in memory of John L. Asinari, Class of 1975, to
recognize outstanding undergraduate research in the field of life

Jonathan Hsiao, a senior from Placentia, CA was the recipient of the
Salvador E. Luria Prize honoring outstanding scholarship and research of
publication quality.

Jason J. Cherry, a senior from White Rocks, BC, received the 1996
Whitehead Prize, which is awarded for showing outstanding promise for a
career in biological research as demonstrated by academic scholarship
and contributions to research and the MIT Community.

The two recipients of the Ned Holt Prize were Maromi K. Sakurai, a
senior from State College PA, and Shane P.B. Crotty of California,
MD. The Ned Holt Prize recognizes biology majors who demonstrate
excellence in scholarship and service to the MIT Community.

Tomas Perez, a sophomore from De Soto, TX. was the recipient of the
National Science Foundation Incentives for Excellence Scholarship Prize,
given to an underrepresented minority student in recognition of
scholastic excellence.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 5, 1996.

Related Topics

More MIT News

The book cover has bright yellow lights like fireflies, and says, “The Transcendent Brain: Spirituality in the Age of Science; Alan Lightman, best-selling author of Searching for Stars on an Island in Maine.” On the right is a portrait of Alan Lightman.

Minds wide open

Alan Lightman’s new book asks how a sense of transcendence can exist in brains made of atoms, molecules, and neurons.

Read full story