Skip to content ↓

Architecture salutes 20

Sixteen graduate students and four seniors have been honored in the
Department of Architecture this year.

Melanie Coo of Colts Neck, NJ, and Scott Tulay of Cambridge were
nominated for the American Institute of Architects (AIA) Foundation

Robert Benson of Hoffman Estates, IL, and Winston Lim of Singapore
received AIA Awards for scholastic achievement, character and promise of
professional ability.

The Alpha Rho Chi Medal honoring service and promise of professional
merit was presented to Richard Stump of Iowa City, IA, who also was
the nominee for the Skidmore, Owings and Merrill Foundation Traveling

Three students in the Master of Science in Architecture degre program
received the Architecture Studies Degree Award recognizing outstanding
work: Michael Fox of Portland, OR, Joseph Raia of Watertown, MA, and
Rupinder Singh of Chandigarh, India.

Owiso Makuku of Englewood, NJ, received the Caminos Memorial Fund

Carlos Mateo Ridruejo of Madrid, Spain was recognized with the
Francis Ward Chandler Prize for achievement in architectural design. He
also received the Imre Halasz Thesis Award for the thesis that best
addresses issues of designing communities of buildings for rapidly
developing environments.

Annie Pedret of Toronto, Ont., and Sarah Whiting of Gainesville, FL
shared the Kristen Ellen Finnegan Memorial Award. (See Awards
Convocation story on page ?.)

The Sydney B. Karofsky '37 Prize recognizing the outstanding Master of
Architecture student entering the final year of study was presented to
Frederick Gutierrez of Gainesville, FL.

Osama Tolba of Cairo, Egypt received the Schlossman Research

The Robert Bradford Newman Award for excellence in the study of
architectural acoustics was given to Deidre Terzian of Newton, MA.

Henry Harvey of Arlington, MA, received the Tucker-Voss Award for
students who show particular promise in the field of building

Three seniors were honored with Architecture Faculty Design Awards for
excellence in design: Nina Bischofberger of Zurich, Switzerland,
Soyoung Kang of Philadelphia and Tinchuck Agnes Ng of Hong Kong.

Kara Bartelt of West Des Moines, IA, received the William Everett
Chamberlain Prize for a graduating student for achievement in design.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 5, 1996.

Related Topics

More MIT News