Skip to content ↓

Advisory committee named for Graduate School search

A 10-member group, chaired by Professor Steven R. Tannenbaum of the Division of Toxicology, has been appointed by Provost Mark S. Wrighton to serve as an advisory committee on the selection of the dean of the Graduate School. The advisory group includes two graduate students.

Professor Frank E. Perkins, Graduate School dean since 1983, announced early this year that he will step down at the end of August to return to teaching and research. The provost said the expectation is that the new dean will be in place for the 1995-96 academic year.

In his charge, Professor Wrighton told the Advisory Committee that "gathering community input on this important position is essential inasmuch as we are in an era of rapid and large changes." He said the advisory committee should meet with key individuals regarding the role of the Graduate School dean and expectations for the years ahead. The group should meet with the Committee on Graduate School policy, academic deans, students and faculty, and also with Dean Perkins, the provost said.

"We have embarked on some major new initiatives in the School of Engineering and in the Sloan School of Management," he continued in his charge, "and there are important areas of graduate and professional education that require leadership and guidance, such as interactive distance education. It is also clear that there have been major shifts in industry needs and government support, with many questioning the now traditional graduate education we have offered."

Other faculty members of the advisory committee are Professors Willard R. Johnson of political science, Lily E. Kay of science, technology and society, Lionel C. Kimerling of materials science and engineering, Leslie A. Kolodziejski of electrical engineering and computer science, Robert B. McKersie of management, Karen R. Polenske of urban studies and planning and Paul R. Schimmel of biology.

The graduate students members are James E. Ellison of political science and Roger G. Kermode of media arts and sciences.

Individuals wishing to nominate candidates or express views to the committee should write to Professor Tannenbaum, Rm 16-822A, or to one of the committee members.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on March 22, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News