Skip to content ↓

Awards and honors

Dr. Lotte L. Bailyn, T. Wilson Professor of Management at the Sloan School of Management, has been appointed 1995-97 Matina S. Horner Distinguished Visiting Professor at Radcliffe College. The announcement was made by Radcliffe President Linda S. Wilson. Professor Bailyn's appointment will begin in September 1995.

As Horner Visiting Professor, Dr. Bailyn will examine issues related to women, work and the economy in conjunction with the staff and fellows at the Radcliffe Public Policy Institute. The Institute works to engage women as full partners in governing society and shaping policy on important economic and social issues.

"Professor Bailyn is a renowned scholar and an eminent Radcliffe alumna," said President Wilson. "We are indeed delighted that she will play an integral role in launching the Public Policy Institute, one of the college's most important new ventures."

Professor Bailyn said, "I have long been concerned with the intersection of employment and private lives. To be able to connect this work with the Radcliffe Public Policy Institute is a wonderful opportunity. I plan to pursue these issues in a much broader context, especially as they relate to the changing patterns of women's and men's roles in the economy, the family and in public life."

Dr. Robert S. Langer Jr., Germeshausen Professor of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering, and his former research associate, Dr. David Edwards, have received the Ebert Prize for the best report of original research in the APha/ACS Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences. Dr. Ed-wards is the lead author of the paper, "A Linear Theory of Transdermal Transport Phenomena," and will receive the silver medal. He has recently joined the faculty in Penn State's Department of Chemical Engineering.

Dr. JoAnne Yates, associate professor of management at the Sloan School of Management, has been awarded the 1993 Newcomen Prize for the best article published in Volume 67 of the Business History Review. Her article, "Co-evolution of the Information-Processing Technology and Use: Interaction Between the Life Insurance and Tabulating Industries," was published in the spring 1993 issue of the journal. The prize is $300 and a certificate.

Dr. Jackie Y. Ying, Thomas D. and Virginia W. Cabot Career Development Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering, has received the 1995 American Ceramic Society Ross C. Purdy Award for "making the most valuable contribution to the ceramic technical literature during 1993. The paper on "Structural Evolution of Colloidal Silica Gels to Ceramics," written with two colleagues from outside MIT, was selected from more than 500 articles published in the Journal of American Ceramic Society. It involves a novel processing that replaces the expensive modified chemical vapor deposition method in generating high-quality silica cladding for optical fiber applications.

Richard A. Young, a professor in the Department of Biology, was recently elected to Fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology. Fellowship is the highest honor the Academy bestows. The Academy recognizes distinction in all areas of the microbiological sciences, promotes professional recognition and fosters the highest scientific standards among microbiologists. Professor Young is also a member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research.

Science writer Joseph B. Ver-rengia, a Knight Science Journalism Fellow in 1986-1987, has received the first John B. Oakes Award for Distinguished Environmental Journalism. The $3,000 prize from the Natural Resource Defense Council was awarded for Mr. Verrengia's series, "Vanishing Colorado: 150 Years After Fremont" published in the Rocky Mountain News on August 14-21, 1994. Verrengia received the award from Thomas Winship, former editor of The Boston Globe and an adviser to the Knight Fellowships, who chaired the committee of judges, in a ceremony at the Harvard Club in New York City.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on February 1, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News