Skip to content ↓

Awards and honors

Two members of the music and theater arts faculty--Professor Emeritus David M. Epstein and Professor Evan Ziporyn--have been chosen as ASCAP Award recipients this year. The cash awards, made by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, reflect ASCAP's continuing commitment to assist and encourage writers of serious music. They are granted by an independent panel and are based upon the unique prestige value of each writer's catalog of original compositions as well as recent performances of those works in areas not surveyed by the Society.

Dr. Janos M. Beer, professor emeritus of chemical and fuel engineering and a senior lecturer in the Department of Chemical Engineering, has received the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences Axel Johnson Lecture-Medal Award. It was presented to Professor Beer by His Majesty Carl XVI Gustaf, the King of Sweden, in a ceremony at the academy. The medal is awarded every three years internationally "for outstanding contribution to the engineering sciences in the service of mankind."

Two former science journalism Fellows, Linda Garmon (Bush Fellow 1983-84) and Carolyn Schatz (Knight Fellow 1990-91) were among those who received television news Emmys in New York City earlier this month. Ms. Garmon won in the category of informational and cultural programming for her documentary, "Secret of the Wild Child," broadcast on the Public Broadcasting System. Ms. Schatz worked with Robert Bazell of NBC News on a 16-minute magazine item, "The Brain Mappers," which ran in September, 1994, on the NBC News program, "Now," with Tom Brokaw and Katie Couric. This received an Emmy for the best informational or cultural programming segment. A total of 42 awards, chosen from 1,300 entries, were given by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on September 27, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News