Skip to content ↓

Awards and honors

Professor Stuart E. Madnick, the John Norris Maguire professor of Information technology at the Sloan School of Management, is the co-recipient of the 1994 Jay Wright Forrester Awards for his book, Software project Dynamics: An Integrated Approach. Sharing the award was co-author Tarek. K. Abdel-Hamid (Sloan PhD 1982), professor of information systems at the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, CA.

The book reports on a series of system dynamics models of software project management that since have been used by major US firms, research labs and government organizations to improve their software development. The award ceremony was held at Stirling University in Scotland in July as part of the annual System Dynamics Society conference.

Two noted MIT professors-Dr. Robert A. Weinberg and Dr. Mildred S. Dresselhaus-have been honored for their achievements by Israel's premier science and technology university, the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology.

Dr. Weinberg, American Cancer Society Professor of Biology, was one of two scientists to receive this year's prestigious Harvey prize for his outstanding contributions to the understanding of cancer.

The prize comes with a cash award of $35,000 and the opportunity to spend a month in Israel as a visiting scholar at the Technion. Named for the late Leo M. Harvey of Los Angeles, the prize recognizes major contributions toward human progress in science, technology, literature and advancement of peace in the Middle East.

Dr. Weinberg was responsible for isolating the first oncogene from human cancer, and the tumor suppressor gene whose loss of function promotes retinoblastoma, a tumor that affects the retina in the eye.

Dr. Dresselhaus, Institute Professor and professor of electrical engineering and physics, was one of eight Americans and Israelis to receive an Honorary Doctorate in Science and Technology.

She received the degree in recognition of her outstanding contribution to the science of condense matter, in particular to the understanding of carbon-based materials, and in appreciation of her guiding influence on scientific policy in the United States and throughout the world.

Renee M. Ned, an MIT sophomore, was one of more than 120 college undergraduates nationwide participating in the 1994 Honors Pre-Medical Academy this summer at Baylor College of Medicine and Rice University in Houston. The goal of the program is to increase minority representation in medicine.

Professor Richard M. Dudley of mathematics has been elected a Fellow of the American Statistical Association. he was one of 49 members of the organization honored this year for outstanding contributions and leadership in statistical science.

Dr. John Hildebidle, professor of literature, has been awarded a Fulbright grant for the 1994-95 academic year to University College in Galway, Ireland. he is one of about 2,000 grant recipients who will travel abroad this academic year under the Fulbright program.

While living in Galway City with his family, Professor Hildebidle will teach course on 20th-century poetry and investigate efforts by Irish writers and intellectuals to address the sectarian conflicts within Irish society.

A poet and short story writer, Professor Hildebidle is the author of a study of the work of Henry David Thoreau and of 20th-century Anglo-Irish fiction.

A version of this article appeared in the September 28, 1994 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 39, Number 6).

Related Topics

More MIT News