Skip to content ↓

Awards and honors

Two national research organizations have announced awards for scientists at the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research.

Dr. Richard A. Young, member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research and Associate Professor of Biology at MIT, has been named recipient of the prestigious 1994 Chiron Corporation Biotechnology Research Award by the American Society for Microbiology (ASM).

In the April issue of ASM News, Dr, Young was cited for "his innovative molecular approaches have provided significant new insights into the nature of host responses to bacterial and viral disease, and provided critical new technology for the development of bacterial and viral vaccines."

Also honored is Dr. Peter S. Kim. Dr. Kim, who will receive the 1994 DuPont Merck Young Investigator Award of the Protein Society for his vital contributions in the fields of protein folding and macromolecular recognition.

Dr. Kim will receive the award at the 8th Symposium of the Protein Society in San Diego on July 12. In recognition of the award, he will deliver an honorary lecture titled "Protein Dissection." An article featuring Dr. Kim's work appears in the April edition of Protein Science, the Society's publication.

Dr. Kim also recently won the 1994 Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry from the American Chemical Society and the 1993 National Academy of Sciences Award in Molecular Biology.

Dr. Thomas W. Eagar, Posco Professor of Materials Engineering and co-director of the Leaders for Manufacturing Program, will receive two awards in April at the annual convention of the American Welding Society.

He will be among the first 60 members of the Society to be inducted as Fellow of the Society, the highest award the organization bestows. In addition, Dr. Eagar and one of his former doctoral students, Professor Yong-Seog Kim of Hong-Ik University in Korea, will receive the William Spraragen Award for the best paper published in the Welding Journal during 1993: "Metal Transfer During Gas Metal Arc Welding." This is the second time Prof. Eagar has won the award.

A version of this article appeared in the April 13, 1994 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 38, Number 29).

Related Topics

More MIT News