Skip to content ↓

NAE Elects 3 from MIT and 14 Alums

Two faculty members, a researcher and several alumni have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

The election brings to 106 the number of MIT faculty elected to the NAE, which now has 1,628 US members and 136 foreign associates.

Election to the academy is among the highest professional distinctions accorded an engineer. Membership honors important contributions and unusual accomplishments.

Elected from MIT were:

Stanley Backer, professor emeritus and senior lecturer in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, "For enhancing the understanding and engineering of fibrous materials to improve their performance in ocean and other engineering applications." He is Class of 1941.

Elisabeth M. Drake, associate director, MIT Energy Laboratory, "For leadership in industrial safety and risk management." She is Class of 1958.

Robert S. Langer Jr., Germeshausen Professor of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering, Department of Chemical Engineering,"For innovative research in chemical aspects of biomedical engineering, particularly in the field of controlled release of macromodules and proteins." He is Class of 1974.

Fourteen other alumni were elected. They are: Arthur E. Bergles '57, dean of engineering, RPI, Troy, N.Y.; Peter R. Bridenbaugh '68, executive vice president, Aluminum Co. of America, Alcoa Center, Pa.; Frederic F. Ehrich '47, staff engineer, GE Aircraft Engines Co., Lynn, Mass.; Armand V. Feigenbaum '51, president, chief executive officer, General Systems Co., Inc., Pittsfield, Mass.; Frederick J. Karol '62, senior corporate fellow, Union Carbide Corp., Bound Brook, N.J.; Joseph F. Keithley '37, founder, Keithley Instruments, Inc., Cleveland; Alexander MacLachlan '57, senior vice president, E.I. Du Pont, Wilmington, Del.; Stewart D. Personick '70, assistant vice president, Bell Communications Research, Inc., Morristown, N.J.; Maxine L. Savitz '61, director, Garrett Ceramic Components, Allied-Signal, Torrance, Calif.; Charles L. Seitz '65, computer science professor, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena; Raymond S. Stata '57, chairman, president, Analog Devices, Inc., Norwood, Mass.; Warren E. Stewart '51, chemical engineering professor, University of Wisconsin, Madison; Edward H. Sussenguth '59, retired, IBM Corp, Cary, N.C.; A. Thomas Young, president, Martin Marietta Corp., Bethesda, Md.

A version of this article appeared in the April 1, 1992 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 36, Number 25).

Related Topics

More MIT News