Skip to content ↓

Four Named to CD Chairs

The following appointments to career development chairs have been announced by Provost Mark S. Wrighton:

Rebecca M. Henderson of the Sloan School and Mark J. Jakiela of the Department of Mechanical Engineering have been selected as the first holders of the Robert N. Noyce Career Development Professorships for two-year terms.

Dr. Henderson received the PhD in business economics (1988) from Harvard University and the SB in mechanical engineering from MIT (1981). She joined Sloan in 1988 as assistant professor of strategic management. Her research is in the economics of technological change, technology strategy, manufacturing strategy and the management of new product development.

Dr. Jakiela joined MIT in 1988 as assistant professor. He holds the PhD (1988), the MS (1984) and the BS (1983) in mechanical engineering all from the University of Michigan. His research interests are computer-aided design and automated assembly.

Jacqueline N. Hewitt of the Department of Physics has been selected as the Class of 1948 Career Development Professor for a three-year term.

Dr. Hewitt received the AB in economics (1980) from Bryn Mawr College and the PhD in physics (1986) from MIT. She has been an assistant professor of physics here since 1989.

Her research involves applying radio astronomy, interferometry, signal processing and image processing to basic research in astrophysics and cosmology. Current interests are gravitational lenses and VLBI (very long baseline interferometry) studies of dwarf Me (cool red) stars.

Barton Zwiebach of the Department of Physics has been selected to be the holder of the Class of 1922 Career Development Professorship for a three-year term.

Dr. Zwiebach, who joined the faculty in 1987 as assistant professor, holds the undergraduate degree in electrical engineering (1977) from Universidad Nacional de Ingenieria, Lima, Peru; the MS in electrical engineering (1978) from California Institute of Technology and the PhD in theoretical high energy physics (1983), also from CalTech.His research is conducted in the Center for Theoretical Physics.

A version of this article appeared in the October 28, 1992 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 37, Number 11).

Related Topics

More MIT News