Skip to content ↓

Electrical engineering and computer science

All students are EECS majors unless otherwise indicated.

Carlton E. Tucker Award--for teaching excellence

Matthew Notowidigo G, Columbus, Ohio

Harold E. Hazen Award--for teaching excellence

Petro Boufounos G, Dionyssos, Greece

Frederick C. Hennie III Award--for teaching excellence

Nathan Srebro G, Haifa, Israel

Edwin Olson G, Bloomington, Minn.

George M. Sprowls Scholarship Award--for best computer science Ph.D. thesis

Dina Katabi, Ph.D. 2003

Manolis Kamvysselis, Ph.D. 2003

Alex Snoeren, Ph.D. 2003 (honorable mention)

Northern Telecom/BNR Project Award--for the best 6.111 laboratory project

Spring term 2003--Adam Champy '04, Boston; Kevin Emery G, Lighthouse Point, Fla.; and Sameera Ponda '04 (aeronautics and astronautics), Coral Springs, Fla., for "Virtual Golf"

Fall term 2003--Philip Guo '05, Westlake Village, Penn., and Ji Zhang '05, Wynnewood, Penn., for "Infared Instant Messenger"

Morris Joseph Levin Award--for the best MasterWorks oral thesis presentation

Jung-Won Kim G, Seoul, Korea

Ali Shoeb G, Winchester, Mass.

Watcharapan Suwansantisuk G, Uttaradot, Thailand

Ashish Khisti G, Toronto

Vijay Divi G, Troy, Mich.

Frank O'Sullivan G, Sneem, Ireland

George C. Newton Undergraduate Laboratory Prize--for best undergraduate laboratory project

Glenn Tournier '04, Cary, Ill.; James Warren '04, Raleigh, N.C.; and Eric Syu, G, Naperville, Ill., for "3-D Mill"

Richard J. Caloggero Award--for exceptional service to the department

Elizabeth Cooper, administrative officer

Ruth and Joel Spira Award for exceptional teaching

Assistant Professor Erik Demaine

Junior Bose Award--for excellence in teaching

Professor David Perreault

David Adler Memorial Thesis Prize--for the best electrical engineering master's thesis

1st prize: Jonathan Sheffi G, Boston

2nd prize: Chen-Wen Huang G, Duluth, Ga.

3rd prize: Jennifer Yu G, Chelmsford, Mass.

Ernst A. Guillemin Award--for best electrical engineering master's thesis

1st place: Ethan Crain G, Cambridge, Mass.

2nd place: Adam Granich-Unikowsky G, Montreal

3rd place: Sourav Raj Dey G, Cambridge, Mass.

David A. Chanen Writing award

Waseem Bakr '05, Abu Dhabi

Robert A. Fano UROP Award--for the best electrical engineering UROP project

Rob Speer '06, Long Lake, N.Y.

Charles and Jennifer Johnson Thesis Prize--for best computer science master's thesis

Paul Youn G, St. Paul, Minn.

Ali Shoeb G, Winchester, Mass.

William A. Martin Memorial Thesis Prize--for best computer science master's thesis

Andrew Hogue G, Upper Saddle River, N.J.

Department Special Recognition Awards

Professors Frans Kaashoek, Duane Boning and Srinivas Devadas for their contributions to graduate student admissions, recruitment and programs

Nathan Ickes G, Ft. Collins, Colo., and Rodrigo Rodrigues G, Lisbon, Portugal, for their contributions to departmental education

Jerome H. Saltzer (1961) Fund Prize--for excellence in recitation teaching by a faculty member

Professor Gerald L. Wilson

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 2, 2004 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News