Skip to content ↓

Chemists garner ACS awards

The American Chemical Society recently announced that several MIT chemistry professors have won awards for 2006.

Richard Schrock, the Frederick G. Keyes Professor of Chemistry, will be honored with the F. Albert Cotton Award in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry. Schrock this month won the 2005 Nobel Prize in chemistry.

Barbara Imperiali, the Class of 1922 Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Biology, was chosen for the Ronald Breslow Award for Achievement in Biomimetic Chemistry.

Stephen Buchwald, the Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry, won the ACS Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry, and Alan Davison, chemistry professor emeritus, won the ACS Award for Creative Invention.

Alice Gast, vice president for research and associate provost, was selected as the winner of the ACS Award in Colloid and Surface Chemistry.

The awards will be presented at the American Chemical Society meeting in March 2006 in Atlanta.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on October 26, 2005 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News