Skip to content ↓

DUSP honors students, alumni and staff members

The Department of Urban Studies and Planning (DUSP) has announced awards won by students and staff.

The following graduate students won awards. The American Institute of Certified Planners' Outstanding Student Award winner is Ronald Mallis of Brooklyn, N.Y. Jean Riesman of Providence, R.I. won the award for Outstanding Contribution to the Intellectual Life of the Department. The Departmental Service Award went to Rosemary Dudley of Albuquerque, N.M., and Marisa Gaither of Los Angeles. Katherine Fichter of Boston won the Flora Crockett Stephenson Writing Prize.

Graduate student Jason Corburn of New York and Muzuki Kawabata of Tokyo received the Outstanding Ph.D. Dissertation Award. The Outstanding M.C.P. Thesis Award went to Alberto Criscuolo of Napoli, Italy, and a team consisting of Alexis Bennett of Venice, Calif., Dudley and Rachel Loeb of Kansas City, Kan. The Outstanding Undergraduate Thesis/Project Award was presented to Jonathan Reed , a senior from of Bristol, R.I.

Several graduate students won fellowships. Peilei Fan of Shanghai, China; Alexis Gensberg of Carmel, Calif.; and Emi Mizuno of Kishiwada, Japan won Lloyd and Nadine Rodwin International Travel Fellowships. Beatrice Chen of Taipei, Taiwan; Julie Kirschbaum of Edina, Minn.; and Desiree Sideroff of Los Angeles received Rubinstein Foundation Resilient City Fellowships.

Ben Hudson of Vicksburg, Miss., received a Hugh Hampton Young Fellowship. The Anthony Sun MISTI Internship Award went to Karen Thundiyil of Rockford, Ill.

Urban Design Certificates went to graduate students Hope Fang of Berkeley, Calif.; Eric Feldman of New Haven, Conn.; Rachel Loeb of Kansas City, Kan.; Richard Milk of Miami Beach, Fla.; Laurie Pessah of Los Angeles; Masayoshi Sasazawa of Tokyo; Carol Tucker of Westford; and Chong Yean Teo of Penang, Malaysia.

Three alumni won Excellence in Public Service Awards: Kristin Harol (M.C.P. 1999) of Lawrence; Anthony Ng (M.C.P. 1998) of Brooklyn, N.Y.; and Colin Riley (M.C.P. 2000) of Boston.

The following DUSP graduate students won Institute-wide awards not announced elsewhere in MIT Tech Talk. Malo Hutson of Roswell, N.M., Celina Su of East Brunswick, N.J., and Yan Zhang of Beijing, China received Harold Horowitz (1951) Student Research Fund Awards. Hutson also won an Industrial Performance Center Summer Research Grant. Raquel Gomes of Fortaleza, Brazil and Raja Shankar of Pune, India received Industrial Performance Center Fellowships. Smita Srinivas of Bangalore, India won an Industrial Performance Center Pre-Dissertation Grant.

Program on Human Rights and Justice Summer Internship Awards went to Jovonne Bickerstaff , a senior from Akron, Ohio; and graduate students Jeff Duritz of Philadelphia; Christina Erickson of Sacramento, Calif.; Tina Pihl of Toronto; and Shinu Singh of Los Altos, Calif.


Administrative assistant S. Holly Kosisky won the award for Outstanding Service by Support Staff. Administrative assistants Kathleen Hoag ,Phillip Sunde and Alice Twohig received honorable mentions.


Graduate students won the following awards from outside MIT.

Brett Ballard of Marietta, Ohio won a Heifer Project/International/Cambodia Grant. The Phellan Fellowship from the International Labour Organization went to Monica Pinhanez of Sa� Paulo, Brazil. Switzer Environmental Fellowships were presented to Cybele Chang of Glencoe, Ill., and Tucker Chang also won an American Association of University Women Education Grant.

Kris Kolodziej of Edison, N.J. won a National Council of State Garden Clubs Award (2001), a Geospatial Information Technology Association Award (2001) and a GIScience 2000 Scholarship.

Department of Housing and Urban Development Fellows are Roxanne Figueroa of Berkeley, Calif.; Marisa Gaither of Los Angeles; Antonio Gonzalez of San Francisco; Moshe McKie-Krisberg and Jesse Williamson of Berkeley, Calif.; and Olga Merchan of Cali, Columbia.

Diana Aubourg of Cambridge and Jimar Wilson of Los Angeles were named Woodrow Wilson/Public Policy and International Affairs Fellows. Aubourg and George Proakis of Boston won Rappaport Public Policy Fellowship. Aubourg also was named a Harry S Truman Scholar. Larisa Ortiz of Ossining, N.Y., won a Rappaport Internship.

The Massachusetts Chapter of the American Planning Association gave Student Project of the Year awards to Chang; Hilary Chapman of Lovettsville, Va.; Jennifer James (M.C.P. 2001); Esther Lee of Bellevue, Wash.; Rachel Loeb of Kansas City, Kan.; Mallis ;Proaki s; Jeffrey Roberts of Troy, Ohio (a graduating senior); and Frances Switkes of Santa Cruz, Calif.

Apiwat Ratanawaraha of Bangkok, Thailand won a Yenching Fellowship. Chapman won a Capital City Fellowship. An American Planning Association Smart Growth Congressional Fellowship went to Michael Donovan of Tacoma, Wash. Celina Su of East Brunswick, N.J., won a Javits Fellowship.

Liou Cao of Nanchang, China won Best Student Paper Award at the 2001 Urban and Regional Information Systems Association Annual Conference. Kathy Diaz of Bronx, N.Y., won the Charles Abrams Award.

Laurie Goldman of Mineral Wells, Texas won a HUD Early Doctoral Student Dissertation Grant. Ana Nogueira of Sa� Paulo, Brazil won an Inter-American Development Bank Japan Scholarship. German Lleras of Bogota, Columbia and Sushila Maharjan of Kathmandu, Nepal won Fulbright Scholarships.

Presidential Management Internships went to Fichter ;Chitra Kumar of Granger, Ind.; and Tina Rosan and Emily Rubenstein of New York.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 5, 2002.

Related Topics

More MIT News