Skip to content ↓

1998-99 DUSP awards presented

Students, staff and faculty members in the Department of Urban Studies and Planning (DUSP) received awards in June for their 1998-99 accomplishments.

Fifteen graduate students received departmental awards. Jessica Andors and Brent Ryan, both of Brooklyn, NY, received awards for Outstanding Contribution to the Intellectual Life of the Department. Departmental Service Awards went to Eryn Deeming of Beaverton, OR; LaTonya Green of Berkeley, CA; and Heather Hillman of Brookline, MA. Michael Fischer of Superior, WI, received an honorable mention.

Kelly Davenport of Lakewood, NY, received the American Institute of Certified Planners' Outstanding Student Award. Natasha Iskander of McLean, VA, and Andrew Waxman of Washington, DC, received Outstanding MCP Thesis Awards. Michelle Apigian of San Francisco received the Wallace, Floyd Award for City Design. Ms. Iskander also received the Flora Crockett Stephenson Writing Prize.

Rubenstein Foundation Bennett Harrison Awards went to Armand Ciccarelli of Yonkers, NY; Stacey Cordeiro of Jamaica Plain, MA; and Tina Pihl of Guilford, CT. Richard Cho of Edison, NY and Benjamin Schonberger of Portland, OR received Rubenstein Foundation Donald Sch��n Awards.

Three staff members also won departmental awards. Turi McKinley, a technical assistant, and Marjorie Noack, a senior staff assistant, received awards for outstanding professional service by support staff. Sandra Wellford, academic administrator/DUSP student services, was recognized for outstanding contribution to students' professional development.

Several DUSP graduate students and faculty also won non-MIT awards. Benjamin Schonberger of Portland, OR, and Margaret Super of Cambridge received American Planning Association Private Practice Division Scholarships. Daniel Serda of Kansas City, KS, received an Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning/Fannie Mae Foundation PhD Dissertation Award. Jennifer Barker of Denver received a National Science Foundation Fellowship. Roohi Abdullah of Karachi, Pakistan, received an American Association of University Women International Fellowship.

Joaquin Herranz of Oakland, CA received a Fannie Mae Foundation 1998 Best Student Paper Award. Joyce Coffee of Boulder, CO received an Academic Scholar Award from the Philanthropic Educational Organization. Sophia Chong of Hawthorne, CA, received an American Academy of Achievement International Achievement Award.

Department of Housing and Urban Development Fellowships went to Geraldine Campos of Tampa, FL; Ines Soto of Hartford, CT; Eliza Edelsberg of Washington, DC; Madeline Fraser of Alexandria, VA; Brandon Mitchell of Arlington, VA; and Ms. Pihl. Woodrow Wilson/Public Policy and International Affairs Fellowships were bestowed on Lou Baker of Espanola, NM; Katrina Tavanlar of West Covina, CA; Ms. Green; Carolyn Lee of San Leandro, CA; and Ms. Chong.

Sylvia Dohnert of Venezuela received a National Council for Science and Technology Scholarship from the government of Venezuela. Monica Pinhanez of Brazil received a Center for International Studies Ford Development Grant.

Assistant Professor Qing Shen received an Association of American Geographers Emerging Scholar Paper Award and an Urban and Regional Information Systems Association Horward Critique Prize. Associate Professor J. Mark Schuster received the Journal of Nonprofit Management and Leadership Editors Prize for Best Paper.

A version of this article appeared in the July 14, 1999 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 44, Number 1).

Related Topics

More MIT News