• Bradford Hager (left) and Rajeev Ram

    Bradford Hager (left) and Rajeev Ram

    Photos: Patrick Gillooly/MIT (Hager) and Caitlin Ram

    Full Screen

MITEI names co-chairs of Energy Education Task Force

Bradford Hager and Rajeev Ram

Professors Hager and Ram are the new co-chairs of MITEI’s Energy Education Task Force and the Energy Minor Oversight Committee.

Press Contact

Francesca McCaffrey
Email: mccafffr@mit.edu
Phone: 617-324-2408
MIT Energy Initiative

Bradford Hager, the Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Earth Sciences at MIT and director of the Earth Resources Laboratory, and Rajeev Ram, MIT professor of electrical engineering and computer science, became co-chairs of MITEI’s Energy Education Task Force and the Energy Minor Oversight Committee on Oct. 5.

The task force is an Institute-wide committee of faculty and students that works with the MITEI Education Office to maintain and enhance the energy studies minor, assess and support further development of MIT’s energy curriculum, and communicate MIT’s interdisciplinary energy education model. The oversight committee is a subset of faculty from the task force who provide institutional leadership for the development and support of the energy studies minor curriculum. Committee members also serve as advisors to energy studies students.

Hager and Ram have long been strong proponents of MIT’s energy education and the energy studies minor, and their new leadership roles will enhance their ability to support MIT’s education of students equipped to address the world’s crucial energy challenges as well as the linked problems of reducing global poverty and preserving the environment.

This article appears in the Autumn 2015 issue of Energy Futures, the magazine of the MIT Energy Initiative.

Topics: EAPS, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science (eecs), Faculty, School of Engineering, School of Science, MIT Energy Initiative, Education, teaching, academics, Energy, Classes and programs

Back to the top