Three AeroAstro faculty honored by AIAA

AeroAstro Professor Sheila Widnall

Professor Widnall and Liebeck are two of three elected as 2010 AIAA Honorary Fellows. Professor Dugundji named AIAA Fellow.

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics has announced that three MIT AeroAstro faculty will be inducted into its prestigious ranks of Honorary Fellows and Fellows.

Professors Sheila Widnall and Robert Liebeck were two of only three individuals named Honorary Fellows for 2010, the AIAA’s highest distinction. Widnall (‘60, MS ’61, PhD ’64) joined the MIT AeroAstro faculty in 1964 as MIT’s first woman professor of engineering. She was named an Institute Professor in 1998, the highest honor awarded by MIT faculty and administration. Liebeck, a Professor of the Practice, is a senior fellow at the Boeing Co., an authority in aircraft design, and a co-developer of the X-48 blended wing body aircraft.

Professor emeritus John Dugundji (MS ’48, ScD ’51) was elected an AIAA Fellow. He is a reknowned expert in aeroelasticity, structural dynamics, and composite materials.

AIAA honorary fellowship is granted to preeminent individuals who have had long and highly contributory careers in aerospace, and who embody the highest possible standards in aeronautics and astronautics. Fellowship is bestowed upon AIAA members who have made notable contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics.

Topics: Aeronautical and astronautical engineering, Alumni/ae, Awards, honors and fellowships

Back to the top