Tess Saxton-Fox claims Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor

A student-athlete from MIT won a major Patriot League honor for the first time on Wednesday, as junior Theresa Saxton-Fox was named the Rowing Scholar-Athlete of the Year while also landing on a list of 11 rowers that comprised the sport's inaugural Academic All-Patriot League Team. Joining Saxton-Fox on the Academic All-Patriot League was junior Allison Simi.

The Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is the highest honor the league bestows upon a student-athlete in each sport. Student-athletes are nominated by their institution and voted upon by the media relations staff at all participating institutions.

Saxton-Fox has been a member of MIT's varsity eight boat in each of her three seasons. She was a Division I CRCA National Scholar-Athlete in 2010 and becomes MIT's first Scholar-Athlete of the Year winner in the school's second season as an associate Patriot League member in the sport of women's rowing.

Click here to read the full release

Topics: Athletics, Awards, honors and fellowships, Department of Athletics, Physical Education and Recreation (DAPER), Mechanical engineering, Sports, Students, Undergraduate


Back to the top