Siebel Foundation announces 2010 Siebel Scholars at MIT

The Siebel Foundation has announced the recipients of the
annual Siebel Scholars awards, including 15 from MIT. The Siebel Scholars
program recognizes outstanding graduate students from the world’s top business
and engineering graduate schools. MIT’s School of Engineering and the MIT
Sloan School of Management have participated in the program since the
Siebel Foundation established it in 2000. Traditionally awarded to
exceptional students in Sloan and the Department of Electrical Engineering
and Computer Science, the Siebel Scholar awards were expanded this year to
include recipients from the Department of Biological Engineering; MIT is one of
only two universities to have Siebel Scholars in all three areas.

Over the past eight years, the Siebel Scholars program has
created a community of more than 540 scholars — 105 of them from MIT — whose
personal leadership, academic achievement, and collaborations are providing
solutions to pressing societal problems. Siebel Scholars are awarded
$35,000; current and former scholars will convene in the spring of 2010 to
address the topic of climate change with renowned scientists, lawmakers, and

The Siebel Scholars program is funded by a grant from the
Thomas and Stacey Siebel Foundation. Established as a private foundation in
1996, the Siebel Foundation is a nonprofit, public benefit corporation. Its
mission is to support projects and organizations that work to improve the
quality of life, environment, and education of its community members. The
Siebel Foundation funds projects to support the homeless and underprivileged,
educational and research programs, methamphetamine abuse prevention, and
alternative energy solutions.

For more information on Siebel Scholars, please visit

This year’s honorees from MIT are:

Electrical engineering and computer science: Charles
Henry Herder, Tony Kim, Kwang Siong Leow, David D. Nackoul, Tao Benjamin

Biological engineering: Rachel E. Miller, Kristen
Naegle, Megan J. Palmer, Michael M. Schmidt, Marcio Goldani von Muhlen

Sloan: Julie L. Christensen, Charles A. Gammal, Jessica
Way Mazonson, Angela M. Thedinga, Eduardo Viladesau Franquesa

Topics: Contests and academic competitions, Awards, honors and fellowships, Students


Back to the top