Corporation names new members at meeting

Ursula M. Burns

The MIT Corporation, the Institute's board of trustees, elected 10 term members and one life member at its quarterly meeting on Friday morning, June 6, before the Commencement exercises. Dana G. Mead, chair of the Corporation, announced the election results. All memberships are effective July 1.

The new life member is Arthur J. Samberg, who received an SB degree in aeronautics and astronautics from MIT in 1962. Samberg has been an Alumni Association nominee to the Corporation since 2003. He has served as Chair of the MIT Investment Management Company Board since 2004 and on two visiting committees. He received an SM in aero/astro from Stanford University and an MBA from Columbia University.

It was also announced at the meeting that Antonia D. Schuman, Class of 1958, has been named the 2008-2009 president of the Association of Alumni and Alumnae of MIT. As such, she becomes an ex officio member of the Corporation. Schuman served a previous five-year term on the Corporation from 1995-2000 as an Alumni Association nominee. She succeeds Harbo Peter Jensen who returns to the Corporation for a new five-year term that will conclude in 2013.

As of July 1, the Corporation will consist of 73 distinguished leaders in education, science, engineering and industry; of those, 21 are life members and eight are ex officio. An additional 34 individuals are life members emeritus, participating in meetings, but without a vote.

The new members are:

Ursula M. Burns

President, Xerox Corporation
Term: Five years
Education: SB 1980 (Polytechnic Institute of New York), SM 1981 (Columbia University)

Lawrence K. Fish

Chairman, Citizens Financial Group Inc.; Chairman, RBS America
Term: Five years
Education: Bachelor's 1966 (Drake University), MBA 1968 (Harvard Business School)
Current MIT activities: Corporation member (2003-08), Executive Committee (2005-08), Corporation Visiting Committees: Sloan School of Management (2007-present), Urban Studies and Planning (2006-present)

Diane B. Greene

President and CEO, VMware Inc.
Term: Five years
Education: BS 1976 (University of Vermont), SM 1978 (MIT), MS 1987 (University of California at Berkeley)
Current MIT activities: Visiting Committee, Department of Biological Engineering

Helen Greiner

Chairman of the Board and Co-Founder, iRobot Corporation
Term: Five years (alumni association nominee)
Education: SB 1989 and SM 1990 (MIT)
Current MIT activities: Association of MIT Alumnae, Sloan Management Society (2005-10), Electrical Engineering Visiting Committee (2006-10)
MIT Awards: TR100 (Tech Review), 2004

Harbo Peter Jensen

Vice President, ChevronTexaco Global Technology Services Co.
Term: Five years (alumni association nominee)
Education: BA 1971 (Northeastern University), PhD 1974 (MIT)
Current MIT activities: Corporation ex officio member 2007-08. Corporation Visting Committees (BE, Materials Science and Engineering, Nuclear Science and Engineering)
MIT Awards: Harold E. Lobdell '17 Distinguished Service Award (1986); Bronze Beaver Award (1994)

Abigail P. Johnson

President, Personal and Workplace Investing, Fidelity Investments
Term: Five years
Education: BA 1984 (Hobart and William Smith Colleges), MBA 1988 (Harvard Business School)
Current MIT activities: Corporation member (2007-present); Investment Management Company Board, Director (2007-present), Corporation Visiting Committees: Sloan School of Management (2007-present)

Marta M. Luczynska

Recent MIT graduate
Term: Five years (recent classes nominee)
Education: BS 2006 and MEng 2007 (MIT)
MIT awards: Outstanding Resident Advisor of the Year Award, 2007, Priscilla King Gray Award for Public Service, 2006

Victor J. Menezes

Senior Advisor, New Silk Route Partners, LLC
Term: Five years (alumni association nominee)
Education: Electrical engineering degree 1970 (Indian Institute of Technology Bombay), MS 1972 (MIT)
Current MIT activities: Corporation Visiting Committee, Sloan School of Management (2003-present)

Arthur J. Samberg

Chairman, Pequot Capital Management Inc.
Term: Life membership
Education: SB 1962 (MIT), MS 1963 (Stanford University), MBA 1967 (Columbia University)
Current MIT activities: Corporation Member (2003-present); Executive Committee, ex officio (2007-present); Investment Management Company Board, chair (2004-present); Visiting Committees: Aero-Astro (2003-present), CEE (2003-present)

Antonia D. Schuman

Manager of Advanced Systems, Retired, TRW Data Technologies Division
Term: Ex officio for one year, as president of the Association of Alumni and Alumnae of MIT
Education: SB 1958 (MIT)
Current MIT activities: Corporation Visiting Committee for Athletics, Physical Education, and Recreation (1995-present)
MIT Awards: Lobdell Award (1986); Bronze Beaver (1994)

Peter L. Slavin, MD

President, Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH); Professor of Health Care Policy, Harvard Medical School
Term: One year
Education: BS 1979 (Harvard College), MD 1984 (Harvard Medical School), MBA 1990 (Harvard Business School)

Laura D'Andrea Tyson

Professor, Business Administration and Economics, Haas School of Business, University of California at Berkeley
Term: Five years
Education: BA 1969 (Smith College), PhD 1974 (MIT)
Current MIT activities: Economics Visiting Committee (2007-present)

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 11, 2008 (download PDF).

Topics: Administration, Alumni/ae, Industry

Back to the top