Three MIT scientists share Buckley prize

Robert Meservey

Three MIT scientists from the Francis Bitter Magnet Laboratory (FBML) have been awarded the 2009 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Prize from the American Physical Society.

Jagadeesh Moodera, group leader; Paul Tedrow, a retired scientist; and Robert Meservey, a visiting scientist at the FBML, will share the $10,000 prize with Terunobu Miyazaki from Tohuku University in Japan. The four were cited for "pioneering work in the field of spin-dependent tunneling and for the application of these phenomena to the field of magnetoelectronics."

The prize was endowed in 1952 to recognize and encourage outstanding theoretical or experimental contributions to condensed matter physics. It is named in memory of Oliver E. Buckley, an influential president of Bell Labs.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on October 8, 2008 (download PDF).

Topics: Awards, honors and fellowships, Faculty

Back to the top