Chemistry awards presented to undergrads

Undergraduate chemistry majors were honored for their achievements and service at the 1999 Chemistry Awards Dinner, held at the Hyatt Regency in Cambridge on May 12. The evening began with an address by guest speaker Professor Emeritus Frederick D. Greene.

The Alpha Chi Sigma Award, given in recognition of outstanding achievement in research, scholarship and service to the department, went to Joshua Bittker, a senior from Katonah, NY and Jason Wong, a senior from Clifton, VA.

The Undergraduate Research Award, which recognizes outstanding research in chemistry by an undergraduate, was given to Iat Chio Chan, a senior from New York, NY; Susan Lang, a senior from Fairfield, CT; and J. Christopher Thomas, a senior from Hugo, MN.

The Frederick D. Greene Teaching Award for outstanding teaching in chemistry by an undergraduate went to senior Matthew Bowman of Wray, CO. Three seniors received the Merck Index award for outstanding scholarship: Shirley Mihardja of Daly City, CA; Nathan Scott of Guilford, CT; and Alina Vrabioiu of Bucharest, Romania.

Songpon Deechongkit, a senior from Washington, DC, was the recipient of the American Institute of Chemists Foundation Award for outstanding achievement, ability, leadership and character.

A version of this
article appeared in the
June 2, 1999

issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume
43, Number

Topics: Chemistry and chemical engineering, Awards, honors and fellowships

Back to the top