11 Receive NSF Honors

Eleven MIT faculty members are among 220 academic scientists and engineers named by the National Science Foundation to receive Presidential Young Investigator Awards.

The awards, which finance research by faculty members near the beginning of their careers, help colleges and universities attract outstanding young PhDs who might otherwise pursue non-teaching careers.

Each recipient receives up to $100,000 a year for five years in a combination of federal and matching private funds.

The following professors are the MIT recipients and their fields of study:

Anant Agarwal, electrical engineering and computer science.
Moungi G. Bawendi, physical chemistry.Dimitris J. Bertsimas, operations research.
Mary C. Boyce, mechanics of materials and manufacturing.
Linda G. Cima, biomedical engineering.
Munther A. Dahleh, electrical engineering and computer science.
Jesus A. del Alamo, electrical engineering and computer science.
Martha L. Gray, bioengineering of connective tissues.
Jacqueline N. Hewitt, astrophysics.
Michael I. Jordan, cognitive sciences.
Martin A. Schmidt, microfabrication technology.

A version of this
article appeared in the
February 5, 1992

issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume
36, Number

Topics: Awards, honors and fellowships

Back to the top