Two Faculty Members Elected to IOM

Two MIT faculty members, one from the School of Science and one from the School of Engineering, have been elected to the Institute of Medicine. They are:

Phillips W. Robbins, American Cancer Society Professor of Biochemistry in the Department of Biology and a member of the Center for Cancer Research.

Laurence R. Young, Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics and the Man-Vehicle Laboratory.

New members are elected by present members from a variety of fields. At least one-fourth of the members must be from other than the health professions.

Professor Robbins is noted for his cancer research. Professor Young has studied the causes and prevention of space motion sickness. He is currently training as a payload specialist with NASA for a possible space flight in 1993 on Spacelab.

A version of this
article appeared in the
June 17, 1992

issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume
36, Number

Topics: Awards, honors and fellowships

Back to the top